Hugs

Standard

Have you ever thought about how important hugs are?  I know I haven’t…. not really, I mean.  I love hugs… but I had no idea how important they were to our mental state of being!!

Here’s a post from one of the websites I’m always recommending:

From Meditations for Women:

“Personal growth is just a hug away.”

We have all heard that you need four hugs a day for survival, eight hugs a day for maintenance and twelve for growth.

The touch of a hug has a healing effect on your body. Your immune system stays strong and you feel loved and special. Hugs have a way of nurturing the little child within you and helping you feel cherished by family and friends.

If you’re not getting your twelve hugs a day, reach out and ask for the hugs you need. A simple, “Can I have a hug?” goes a long way toward getting those twelve hugs you need for growth.

Wow!  12 hugs a day for growth!  I’m not even close!  That’s something I vow to work on!

I guess when you think about it, people that hug a lot are happy.  There was a Sister that I used to work in the temple with that was a hugger!  I mean really!  I swear she would ask everyone for a hug!  Well, obviously not everyone…. but she sure got a lot of hugs!  And now that I think about it…. she was always happy!

As usual…. the internet is full of sources to verify how important hugging is.  Here’s a snippet from an article  that was in both the Ensign and Reader’s Digest:

This is a picture from an article called, “The Rescuing Hug.” The article details the first week of life of a set of twins. Apparently, each were in their respective incubators, and one was not expected to live. A hospital nurse fought against the hospital rules and placed the babies in one incubator. When they were placed together, the healthier of the two threw an arm over her sister in an endearing embrace. The smaller baby’s heart rate stabilized and her temperature rose to normal.

They both survived, and are thriving! In fact, now that the two girls are home, they still sleep together, and still snuggle. The hospital changed their policy after they saw the effect of putting the two girls together, and now they bed multiples together.

Ensign magazine May ’98 pg. 94, Adapted from the Readers Digest article, “A Sister’s Helping Hand” May 1996 Pp. 155-56

Amazing, isn’t it?  Hugs are for our survival for sure.

Hugs can be happy or sad.  The other day I had a sad hug.  A long sad hug.  It was from my daughter.  I can’t stand the fact that she has moved out of State!  It was a tearful long hard hug telling her how much I love her and knowing that I will miss her.  She is my only daughter you know!  I’m grateful that we took that time to express our love to each other that way.  I remember a similar hug from her when we dropped her off for college for the first time.  That was a hard one too.  Oh…. and of course, the hugs sending my boys on missions!  It’s hard to let go of your kids in those ways!  But hugs make it a little easier!  At least she’s only a long days drive away… not 2 or 3 days!

I have a friend who always ends her correspondence with *Hugs*.  Well…. now I think I’ll take those more literal and count it towards my 12 hugs a day!!  Thanks, Merlyn!

I’m grateful for hugs!  I’m grateful to know that I need more…. and so do you!!  So don’t be surprised next time you see me if I reach out and give you a hug!!!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

Take a few minutes and watch this ‘Free Hugs Campaign’ video on Youtube.

It’s amazing how many other videos have been made that are a spin off of this campaign!!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

