My Voice


Do any of you like to hear yourself talk?  It’s kind of funny….. but that’s what blogging feels like.  Almost like you are ‘thinking out loud’ to yourself!  But…. I guess you do end up with some kind of an audience to hear your voice…. as long as you have friends that follow you!   :o)    Well… today I am grateful for my voice!  I mean that in several ways.  After seeing a friend from High School last night that has developed a problem with her speaking voice….. I realized how grateful I am to be able to talk!  Boy…. don’t we take that for granted!  It was so difficult for her to speak… and yet she wanted to and didn’t give up trying to get out what she wanted to tell you.  In a way, it reminded me a little bit of my Mother struggling to tell you something, but dealing with the after effects of a stroke she’s not always able to say what she wants!  Just another reason to make me grateful I have a voice.  I could also say, that even though blogging and social media are not audible…. they still give us a place to ‘voice’ our opinions and feelings.  But….. in reality….. the voice that I am really grateful for today is my singing voice!  I feel I have been very blessed vocally.  I’ve had so many opportunities to share that talent….. even around the world!  I do love to sing.  Something I inherited from my Mother.  My Mom had a beautiful singing voice.  Unfortunately, I haven’t heard her sing in years.  She had some kind of a problem with her lungs when she was about my age that made it difficult for her to breath and sing.  So she gave it up.  Which makes me sad.  I can’t imagine having to do that!  I would be devastated!  I am grateful that we at least have  some recordings of her singing with her Barbershop Quartet: The Classics.  I think that was one of the reasons that I decided to make a Christmas album several years ago.  I remember thinking, what if something happened to my voice or even worse, that my life ended early……   I would want my family to have a recording of me singing so that they could always remember that.  Plus….. I wanted my parents to have it before they were gone.   So…. I made a Christmas album for their present in 2001.  Though it was professionally recorded in a studio…. it was done so quickly that it’s not ‘perfect’…. but I guess neither am I!  I do have a goal to make another album someday soon.  I would like this one to be done a little slower so it can be perfected and also done in a way that I can make it available on Itunes.  It’s on my bucket list.  HIGH on the list.   Hopefully within the next 2 years.  So…. today I’m grateful for my voice…. both speaking and singing.  Grateful that I can use them to bring joy into other peoples lives.  That is truly a blessing!  I am Grateful!  How are you?

Leave a Reply

