Being Positive


“Let us rise up and be thankful, for if we didn’t learn a lot today, at least we learned a little, and if we didn’t learn a little, at least we didn’t get sick, and if we got sick, at least we didn’t die; so, let us all be thankful.” — Buddha

My friend just made a post of FB that made me remember the “Glad Game” from Pollyanna.  I started thinking about what a great idea that would be for all of us to do… and it made me grateful for the idea!  A positive attitude can make such a HUGE difference!

It’s funny….. there are millions of things to be grateful for….. but because I’ve made a commitment to post one a day…. I seem to be struggling on what to pick!  It has to be something I feel I can ‘expound’ on.  Certain things I’m waiting for a particular day to post…. (since I have a whole year)…. but Shelly’s post on FB totally made me start thinking about turning the things around that frustrate us and realize how lucky we are to have what we have….. even if it’s not exactly what we think we need at the moment.

Heaven only knows that we are so blessed in this country!  We just seem to take it for granted and we forget to be thankful for things that sometimes may seem annoying!  For instance….. what if you had a flat tire on the freeway today??  Why on earth would you be grateful for that????  Well…. you really could find a lot of reasons.  It may not apply to every situation and sometimes you may never really know…. but what if having that flat tire made you NOT be at a certain intersection at the exact same time someone ran a red light?  (God has Angels watching over me…..)  I mean…. you may never know that…. but you really can find something positive in every situation if you try hard enough.   Maybe the person that stops to help you  with that flat turns out to be a really important person in your life and you may have never met  them had you not had a flat tire!!

There’s an old song that goes: Accentuate the Positive, Eliminate the Negative, Latch on to the affirmative, Don’t mess with Mr. In-between…. I think that’s pretty good advice.  As the quote  at the beginning of my post states….. ‘at least you didn’t die…. so let’s all be thankful’

There’s a lesson to be learned at every turn if only we are open to looking for it.  So here’s my challenge to you…. think back on something that happened today or even this week that you were upset about and see if you can’t find the good in it!  Try playing the ‘glad game’!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

 

Leave a Reply

