My Husband


I’ve been waiting for today to make my husband the subject of my gratitude post!  It’s been hard not to do it before!  Today is his birthday…. and it’s a BIG one!  Let’s just say he now qualifies for things he didn’t qualify for till now.  But he is so non-chalant….. it doesn’t phase him at all!  If only I can be half as graceful when I get there….. (and I’m quite a ways off…in case you wondered!!)

I can’t even begin to tell you how lucky I have felt my entire life with him!  What a blessing he has been!  I mentioned his father yesterday in my post… how grateful I was that my husband had inherited some of his qualities….. so that’s one reason why I love my Father-in-law so much!  His son is so much like him in so many ways.  I don’t think I could have a more honest, tender and caring person in my life.  John has taught me so much…. and been so patient while I learn!  I remember when we were dating and we talked one day about why he hadn’t gotten married yet…. and he said something along the lines of “I’m not sure if I’d make a very good Father”….. WHAT!!  Are you kidding?  I had already seen those qualities in him in the way he played with my nieces and nephews…. they loved him!  That was a quality that I knew he had….. and what a wonderful Father he has been.  Pretty sure my children would attest to that!  They adore and respect their Dad.  He’s always been loving, but firm…. but not harsh.  Always accepting and understanding.  He knows how important it is for people to learn from their mistakes and yet loves them in spite of all that.  (Kind of a Christ like attribute….right?)  I really wonder if any other man would have been as understanding and sweet with me as he has been……  I’m not the easiest person to live with.  I’m not sure I could live with me if I wasn’t me!!

My cute hubby.... John A. Copier

All I can say is it’s too bad all you women out there aren’t as lucky as I am!  And isn’t that the way I should feel?  You may wonder…… did I know for sure that he was perfect in every way before we got married?  Heavens no!  Were there things I was  a little apprehensive about?  Heavens yes!  But what a jewel he as become and is and was!   We all grow and develop as we mature.  And depending on our lives experiences and our attitudes…. we can become what we are meant to become!  Is he there yet?  Am I a there yet?  Good grief… no!  But we are ‘becoming’….  And loving each other only encourages those good qualities.  Becoming a selfless person is the ultimate goal for all of us.  It’s not always easy…. but we should be trying to improve daily.  It’s when we get caught up in ourselves that we stumble and not progress.  So thank you to the most wonderful man in my life!  Thank you to my loving husband John for being who he is and for helping to make me what I am!  I am Grateful!  How are you?

Leave a Reply

