Inspirational Music


Music is a comfort to the soul.  It reaches you in ways no other thing can.  I am so grateful for inspirational music.  I hope that you will allow me to perhaps use music as a post several times this year since there are so many types of music and it’s such a big part of my life.  But today…. it’s inspirational music I’m grateful for.  Have you ever had a time in your life when you were very sad and a song comes on that can reach you and give you encouragement?  That’s how my morning started today.  It’s hard to see those you love be sad…. it makes me sad.  I wish I could take away the pain.

I like to listen to music while I am getting ready for church…. preferably the kind of music that will uplift my mood and inspire me for the meetings I will be attending.  Today I was listening to an album titled “Women of Destiny”.  I really like that album… some great songs on there.    The song that hit me today is titled:  “Sometimes He Lets It Rain”.  As hard as it can be…. sometimes we do have to go through hard times before we find the joy.  As part of the song says: “There is no joy without the pain, sometimes He has to let it rain”.     Another phrase is “sometimes it takes a storm to lead a heart where it can grow”.  It seems that we need that adversity to stretch beyond where we want to go.  It becomes what you might call a ‘turning point’ for us.  Hopefully we can recognize it as a chance to turn ‘upward’ in our growth here on earth.  I was just reading a talk by Dallin H Oaks titled “Give Thanks in All Things”  from 2003 April conference where he stated:  “…we should even give thanks for our afflictions because they turn our hearts to God and give us opportunities to prepare for what God would have us become.”    Thus…. the need for adversity and afflictions.  Though not fun to deal with…. but necessary for our growth.  In times like these… I am grateful to turn to  inspirational words through music.  It helps the soul to be encouraged and uplifted and even perhaps grateful.  I am Grateful!  How are you?     http://lds.org/general-conference/2003/04/give-thanks-in-all-things?lang=eng

Leave a Reply

