Yogurt


Do you like yogurt?  I have really come to love yogurt!  There are many different kinds of yogurt out there….. some of them with TOO much stuff in them that kind of defeat the purpose of yogurt being healthy for you!!  I have learned to buy plain unsweetened yogurt (or we make the homemade kind…..).    I then sweeten it with Stevia, which is a natural sweetener, and MUCH better for you than refined sugar….. then I add fresh cut up strawberries, fresh blueberries and a little granola.  My favorite granola is one I get from Costco called Nature’s Path Pumpkin Flax Plus Granola.  Good stuff.  This combination is a treat I like.  And…. if you’re eating the right kinds of yogurt it’s very good for you!

Here’s some info from an article I got off of a website called Medical News Today:

“A yogurt a day may not mean fewer doctor visits, but there are plenty of health reasons to make this dairy food a regular in your diet.

The May issue of Mayo Clinic Women’s HealthSource covers the benefits:

Just missing the granola!

 

– One 8-ounce cup of plain low-fat yogurt provides around 400 milligrams (mg) of calcium, more than the 300 mg in an 8-ounce glass of milk.

– Yogurt also has as much potassium as a banana and as much protein as an egg or ounce of meat.

– The live bacteria in yogurt help in digestion and protect you against other harmful bacteria…….

……….Although many bacteria can make you sick, these bacteria are beneficial.”

Isn’t it nice when something that’s good for you tastes good!  Actually….. there are a LOT of  healthy foods that taste great….. yogurt is just one of them!  It’s not something that I was introduced to as a child…. so I’ve been grateful for my discovery of how good yogurt can be!  One of my favorite occasional treats is to go to one of the new fangled yogurt places where you make you own yogurt concoction and add all your own condiments and then pay by the pound…… yummy!!  But pricey!  That’s why it’s only an occasional treat!   Plus I’m pretty sure they are FULL of sugar!  But an indulgence once and a while is ok, right?    So….. what is your favorite kind of yogurt?  I am Grateful!  How are you?               http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/24019.php

Leave a Reply

