Daddy/Daughter Relationships

Standard

Daddy’s little girl……. why is there such a special connection between a Dad and his Daughter?  Though I believe that Fathers love their sons just as much….. it’s a special kind of love they feel for their daughters.

Today I witnessed a very sweet experience.  It brought so much joy to my heart!  I have the opportunity of serving my Heavenly Father in His house a couple of days a week.  In the process of serving there, I am able to be a helper on what we call a ‘session’.  A couple is chosen from the congregation to ‘witness’ the covenants made by those in attendance at that meeting.  Today the couple that they happen to asked was a Father and Daughter duo.  It was so cute to see how sweet he was to her and how excited he seemed to be to have that opportunity with his daughter.  I remember thinking to myself as they were chosen from the crowd…. “Ahhhh…. that is SO sweet!  I would have LOVED to have had that opportunity with my Father!”    During the whole meeting my heart was warmed every time they were asked to come forward and he would help her from her seat and graciously help her back to her seat.  Now bare in mind….. this gentleman was probably in his 70’s or 80’s while his daughter I suspect was probably in her 50’s or so.  And there HE is…..helping her up and down!  I had a chance to chat very briefly with the daughter at the end of the session.  I told her how much I enjoyed seeing them as the witness couple.  She noted that she felt that her Dad was missing her Mother a little that day.  I suspect that there’s  a little truth to that….. but I could also sense a deep love for his daughter….. something that I think she’d been blessed to be a part of probably since her birth.

I started thinking about the song “Soliloquy” from the musical CAROUSEL.   It’s interesting to see Billy’s character make a total switch in attitude once he realizes that he may have a daughter and not a son.  After singing about all the things he’ll teach his son…. he starts thinking about the possibility of having a girl and sings:  “You can have fun with a son……But you gotta be a father to a girl!”  Then his whole attitude turns from one of being rough and tough with a son to tender and sweet with a daugther…. “peaches and creme”.  I suspect that’s part of why Father’s and daughters have such a connection.  A Father feels VERY protective of his little angel!

Do you remember having a Daddy Daughter date with your Father?  I do.  I remember being very excited for that night.  It was a ‘big deal’.  A night hosted by my church for girls and their Dads.  I think I was around 10 yrs old when that happened.  I remember dressing up in the nicest clothes we had, going to a party at the church and getting to dance with my Daddy!  I don’t think our church sponsors those days anymore…. at least not in the same way if they do.  Special times.  I also have memories of my hubby spending some sweet time with our daughter too.  I know they have a special connection…. as they should.  Pretty sure she adores her Dad.   Aren’t we girls lucky to have special relationships with our Dad’s?  I am Grateful!   How are you?

4 responses »

  1. I am as grateful as any man can be for my daughter. For her strength and her kindness. For being more than I could have ever hoped for. She is still the apple of my eye.

  2. It is very touchy. I also have two daughters that I like to shared this with.
    May I ask for a copies of this publication.
    Pleasure to read and I like it very much. Thanks to the producers.
    Regards
    Collin.T

    • I’m glad you enjoyed the post, Collin. I’d be happy for you to share it with your daughters. If they don’t have access to the internet, feel free to print a copy of it. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

