Drinking Water


Wow….. H2O….this is a BIG one!  Our bodies could not survive without water!  In fact, I’m sure you are aware that our bodies are somewhere between 55% and 78% water.  That’s a lot of water!  It’s no wonder that it’s important to stay hydrated.  I’ve heard it said that you should drink a minimum of 1/2 your weight in oz. of water.  (i.e.  150 lb person should drink 75 oz of water a day)  I know I’m not as good as that as I should be!  How about you?  There are many that will argue that most other liquids don’t really count as your water intake since they are metabolized differently.   I’m not a soda pop fan, so I don’t have trouble with that statement since I don’t need to rationalize that my soda counts as water….  however…. I suppose if someone has consumed a Big Gulp in a days’ time and I’ve only had 12 oz or so of water….. they have probably hydrated themselves better than I!

I do love water.  I know a lot of people have a hard time drinking it.  Well….. I have a hard time understanding why they don’t like it!  Now…. I know that there are areas of the country where the water isn’t so tasty.  Even here in the state of Utah it varies dramatically!  I remember my cousin who lived north of me would come to our house and complain about the taste of our water (mostly because I don’t think our soft water was filtered separate from our drinking water).  But then…. I know I have been to areas south of where I live (which will remain unnamed here….) that have AWFUL tasting water!!  So the taste of water can definitely have something to do with whether or not you enjoy drinking it or not.  Doesn’t that make you grateful for water filters??  I could go on about the wonderful things water does for us, but I won’t.  If you want to look at some very interesting facts about water, check out this link to wikipedia:   http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Water       Let’s just say…. that I am grateful for clean good tasting water!  Let’s all do our part to keep it that way!  I am Grateful!  How are you?

Leave a Reply

