Failed Recipes

Standard

How can I be grateful for failed recipes?  I mean really…. isn’t that just a waste of ingredients?  True….. it is a waste…. unless they aren’t a completely failed recipe…. BUT, what I am grateful for is now I know what NOT to do next time!

My Mom has this great recipe for Old Fashioned Oatmeal Cookies.  It’s always been a favorite of mine though it’s not one I’ve made very often over the years.  Probably because it take more time to make them this way.  You start by stirring several ingredients in a large pan, similar to a stock pan.

This is similar to what they SHOULD have looked like!

These ingredients come to a boil for a few minutes and then you let it all cool down.  It’s the cooling down that take the time.  After it has cooled down you add the rest of the ingredients and then it mix is ready to be shaped into cookies and baked.  Well…. I got the bright idea several months ago when I made them to try and turn them into a ‘cleaner’ version that the original.  Cleaner meaning healthier.  So… I made some substitutions and they turned out pretty good as far as I can recollect.  But, in tonight’s version, we decided to try just using our Blend Tec blender to grind the wheat instead of the big wheat grinder we have in our basement.  We had made some homemade whole wheat pancakes a while back using the Blend Tec to grind and mix the batter so we thought we’d give it a try.  NOT a good idea.  The flour was not ground very fine (perhaps we should have tried to process it longer….).  The result in the cookies is a very corse flour which gives the cookies a nutty kind of texture, verses the smooth texture that they should have been.  While they don’t taste awful, they aren’t my favorite and certainly nothing even similar to the cookies Mom used to make!   So…. tonight I’m grateful for learning from a small mistake that i don’t want to do it that way next time!  It’s a good thing I wasn’t making them for anyone but us!!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

Leave a Reply

