New Theater building


I had the opportunity to take a tour of the new Center Pointe Legacy Theater last night.  It’s very beautiful and I’m very excited to see this happen for Davis County.  Though it’s a bit bittersweet to see the Rodgers Memorial name and space go away…..  I think this will be a great move to bringing more interest and support to the theater arts in Davis County.  In fact, my husband and I decided to go ahead and purchase season tickets and I was amazed at how sold out they were for season tickets!!  That’s a great sign!  They may even have to consider extending the length of the run of the shows to accommodate everyone sometime in the future!  (At least, that’s my suggestion….)  

The theater really is lovely though.  It will be a fun space not only to see shows in, but to work in!  I was very bummed that I couldn’t work out the opportunity to be in the first show, “Hairspray”.  I REALLY wanted to be in the first show in the new space and work with Jim Christian….. but I have other things I am focusing on right now and theater just was not going to fit in the schedule.  Hopefully sometime soon I can do a show there.

I love that the space still feels intimate while housing more seats that will be much more comfortable than the seats at the old theater.  When we walked through the theater last night on the tour I sensed that there really wouldn’t be a bad seat in the house…. which is nice, considering that the old space had some ‘sight line’ issues with several seats.  I’m excited and grateful that most of the Davis County citizens approved a small tax to support the theater…. they really need that support.   It really will be an asset to the area and a nice space for all of the incredible talent in Utah to have a chance to work!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

Leave a Reply

