Dentists


Really…. I am.  I am grateful for Dentists.  I think our teeth are one of the things that we regularly schedule check ups for.  I mean…. I hate to say it…. but I haven’t been into my regular Dr. for a LONG time to do a well check!  Used to take the kids all the time when they were little….but as we get older, we seem to neglect ourselves when it come to doctors visits.  But not with the Dentist!!

Now, I have to say that I’m extremely grateful for modern technology when it comes to dentistry!  How many of you are old enough to remember what seems to be ‘archaic’ methods they used to use on us!  (Funny thing…. it was very modern technology for our parents… ) If you want an idea of what I’m talking about….. just watch the movie musical ‘Little Shop of Horrors‘.  Though it’s a comedic scene with Steve Martin making fun of Dentists…. the dental equipment is pretty much what I remember from my childhood days!  (maybe not quite as horrific as he plays it!!!)   Ok… I’ll admit it…. even though I wasn’t very fond of going to the dentist to be worked on…..  I loved going anyway because I thought he was a ‘hottie’!  Though I’m sure the term I used back then was, ‘cute’ not ‘hottie’…. I just wanted to make sure all you youngins knew what I meant….

Do you remember the big old wads of cotton they would put in your mouth?  And of course…. the ‘spit’ bowls?  Isn’t the modern day suction so much nicer!  My mouth used to get so dry between the rinse and spit mode.  Yikes!  I don’t even want to think about all the things we used to go through!  And yet… think of how far they have come in just our time….. and I’m sure it will only get better.  Which I’m grateful for.  Today I’m grateful for my Dentist with his modern equipment and for my clean bill of health!  I am Grateful!  How are you?

For a laugh, here’s the youtube link to the dentist scene in Little Shop of Horrors:   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bOtMizMQ6oM

Leave a Reply

