Govert

Standard

I know that I took a chance to be grateful for ‘in laws’ in general a while back.   But I hope you’ll indulge me again to express gratitude for my amazing father in law, Govert Copier.  I’ve always been very grateful that I have a great relationship with John’s parents.  It makes life much easier…. but I would like to pay tribute to a wonderful man today….. it may be a day late for his Birthday….. but I love and appreciate him EVERYDAY!

This is a gentle, loving, wise and funny man.  He will listen and not judge, can give counsel with tenderness and yet can be very humorous too.  The man loves to sing.  He had the opportunity to play the part of Tevye in a Stake production of ‘Fiddler on the Roof’ right after John and I got married.  It was kind of funny to hear a Dutch accent on a Jewish man…. but the audience loved it.  He was very cute in the part.  It was a sentimental moment for me since I had played the part of Golde in my high school production only a few years earlier.  Because of that experience, we shared a love of the show in a different way than most of the family did.  He has always loved to sing ‘If I Were A Rich Man” and “Sunrise, Sunset”  since then….. particularly at wedding receptions of the grand kids!   We all get a kick out of it when he does it.

It’s hard to see your loved ones age.  He just turned 91 years old yesterday….. and though he is doing OK…. he is showing signs of being older, including battling with the effects of diabetes.  Though he can’t do a lot of the things he used to, he is still always so cheerful and so happy to see you.  I have always had a special place in my heart for him and probably even more so since my own Father passed away almost 5 years ago.  He fills that void in some ways…. though not in all ways.  I am grateful for a man who has always showed me AND my children tremendous love and affection.  I hope that he will be with us for a long while…. but as he is getting older… you never know when his time will come.  In the meantime….. I will just be grateful for what time we have left with him!  Thank you for being the tremendous wonderful person you are, Govert!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

Leave a Reply

