Hometown– Bountiful


What are your memories of growing up in your hometown?   I have many…. as I’m sure most of you do!  While I can’t say that my hometown of Bountiful would qualify as what some would define as a small town….. it was MUCH smaller when I was growing up than it is now and I think that gave a lot of the feel of a small town.  Especially in some of the things we did there.

I remember doing a lot of walking around town.

Though this isn't Main Street in Bountiful.... it reminds me of it.

Even when I was a little older  We used to walk down to Main Street during the summer and get some ice cream or french fries at the local fast food place.  Gosh…. I can’t even remember what it was called…. but it seems like it was located on 2nd or 3rd South on the East side of Main Street….   Anyone out there remember what place I’m referring to?  I think there it is a bank there now.  Anyway….  I remember walking the 7 or 8 blocks it was from my house to get downtown.  We use to hang out down there for hours.

How about the good old fashioned home town celebrations of holidays?  Particularly the 24th of July.  The big parade down Main Street the evening of the 23rd… which ended in the city park where all the Carnival festivities would begin.  The rides we had weren’t necessarily the big type rides that they have at carnivals now…  they were small and fun.  Of course one of the highlights was the dunking machine….  and the ‘fishing’ pond game.  My friends and I could hardly wait to get down to the park to spend a good portion of the day there having fun.  And then the fireworks were done right there in the park….  so you pretty much spent your whole day there.  Now the fireworks are way up on the hill at a Jr. High not even close to the park.

Though the 24th of July celebration is still there…. it’s not quite the same as it used to be.  The parade doesn’t seem the same.  Maybe part of that is the fact that I’m not a child anymore so it may have lost some of it’s magic….  but it doesn’t’ feel the same.   The celebration in the park isn’t quite what it used to be either…… especially since they tore down the ‘Bubble’ where the pool was and the softball diamond and put in a new community complex.  Though I’m sure the complex serves it’s purpose and is appreciated by many… it’s just not the same.  It’s a big sign of a small town growing up and getting larger.  The community has grown leaps and bounds since I moved away.  Other than a few summers spent at home…. I haven’t lived there since I left for college.  I’m constantly amazed at how it’s grown and continues to grow.

I kind of miss that small town feel.  The hustle and bustle of our fast paced lives make it even harder to remember a time when things were slower and smaller and not so technical.   Funny thing is…. I’m positive that my parents memory of growing up there was even a much much slower pace than I’m touting!  Their memories are probably back when it really WAS a small town!  At least I have my memories of growing up in what I felt was a great safe community!  I’ve decided that I would love to get a group of friends together and take a walk down Main Street.  Maybe between all of us we can remember what stores used to be there!  Anyone game?

I am Grateful!  How are you?

Leave a Reply

