Women of Excellence


There’s a program that the youth of my church does called Young Women in Excellence.  Among other things…. part of what they do is share their particular talents with members of the church in a night that is a tribute to them.  Well… my Ward Relief Society Committee decided to adopt that idea for the older sisters in the Ward and have a tribute to Women of Excellence.

What a treat!  How fun it was to see the talents of a few of the sisters in the ward!  I was amazed at how many of them had hidden talents and hobbies that they excel in!  The one that surprised me the most was how many of them paint and draw!  One sister in particular used that talent in many different mediums…..  Chalk, oil and ceramic.  Others had oil paintings (that have won awards I might add!) and water colors, etc..  Of course there was the scrap booking, crafts, quilting, cross stitch, crocheting, knitting, photography, genealogy, gardening, cooking, writing, piano, vocal……. I’m sure I’m leaving something out!!  How fun to learn about the skills that these sisters have!  And it really was only a scratch on the service of what it could have been.

And don’t forget our fearless leader of the evening….. who sacrificed being there because she is an AVID BYU fan!  It was torture for her!  Though she did have a radio there and listened to most of the game when she could…..  I must say….. that is the very first Relief Society activity that I’ve ever been to where the background ‘music’ was a sports event!  We decided that that was part of her talent and skill….. being a big supportive BYU fan!

It truly was a delightful evening with delightful company!  I’m grateful for the Relief Society organization and the joy that associating with other sisters brings me.  I learn so much from them and they are constantly uplifting and inspiring me!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

Leave a Reply

