Eye Sight

Standard

I guess I can’t really say enough about being grateful for my eye sight….. even thought it’s not the best right now and I get a little frustrated with that….. I still have eye sight, and I’m grateful!

A few years ago I had lasik surgery on my right eye.  Since I am nearsighted, we decided to only correct one eye for distance and leave the other eye alone so I could still see things close up without glasses.  At the time, I could still focus up close fairly well.  For those of you that don’t know…. this is called Mono-vision.   It’s amazing how the brain adapts to what you are looking at and knows which eye to focus out of.  Though mono-vision doesn’t give you the clearest vision possible…. it’s still pretty good.  The problem I have been facing is dry eye.  When my eyes are dry and tired….. my vision is much worse than normal.  And on days when I get up very early, like today….. by late afternoon, my vision is much worse.  Hence…. where the frustration comes in!

I did have the doctor give me a prescription for glasses that would correct my left eye so that I could drive a little more safely at night and also when my eyes are tired….. but they still seem to not correct it enough….. at least not so that it’s crystal clear.  I like 20/20 or better vision, and I haven’t had that for a while!

I remember the first time I got glasses when I was in Jr. High.  I had no idea I needed glasses…. I could see just fine… I thought.  Then the day I walked out of the optometrist office with my new glasses on, and it was like opening a whole new world to me!  I still remember looking across the street at a big old tree and saying “I can see all the individual leaves on that tree!”  I was so amazed!  Then I stepped off the curb!  LOL  Have you ever done that with a new prescription and a new pair of glasses ??  You’re brain hasn’t yet adjusted to this new vision you have and your perception is a little off.  It’s pretty humorous….. but it doesn’t take long for the brain to adjust.

While I may need corrective lenses or corrective surgery to have better vision….. at least I have that option!  I am grateful that I can see as well as I do and that I don’t have to miss out on all the wonderful things the world has to offer!  I see trees of green, red roses too………..What a wonderful world it is!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

About Wanda Copier

Hi! Thanks for joining me on my Gratitude blog! My goal is to empower my life for the better while hopefully giving you food for thought as to what you are grateful for in your life! Check out the 'About Me' tab to learn more about me!

Leave a Reply

