Facing Fear


We all have fears to face.  Some more than others…..but we really could be facing some kind of fear on a daily basis.  I’m not talking about the kind of fear of going to a spoke alley or something…. (which, by the way, I don’t like doing…..)  but more like fears of being rejected or of failure.

I once heard it said that all emotions or actions are based on love or fear.   I believe that it’s true.  It’s easy to forget sometimes that that might be the case….. as we get wrapped up in our daily lives…… but if we really analyze everything we do, it could be attributed to Fear or Love.   It’s hard to imagine being grateful for fear….. but what can we really learn from it?

In my current business, I work in the ‘fear zone’ every day.  There are all sorts of names I could attach to the fears I feel everyday…. but I’m learning that as I work through them, that they aren’t as bad as I ‘feared’ they’d be.  I’m also learning that by detaching myself from that fear and really realizing what I am doing, that I can truly come from a place of love, not fear.  It takes believing in myself and the things that I have to offer to get to that place….  but I am slowly learning.  Even with a strong belief in what I’m doing, I can still allow myself to let those fears creep in, and then what happens?  I don’t get the things accomplished that I should have and by so doing, I’m not helping people the way I could have!

I’m sure you’ve all heard the famous quote by Marianne Wiilliamson:  “Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.  Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.  It’s our light not our darkness that most frightens us.”  Though that’s not the quote in it’s entirety…. it gets the message across that sometimes we are afraid of what we could really become.  We wonder if we are ready for it.  But by not sharing all that is in us….. we are not helping others around us.  The last part of the above quote says:  “As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”   Another famous quote on fear is from President F.D. Roosevelt:  “The only thing we have to fear, is fear itself!”

Transforming fear to come from a place of love is a process.  It takes time, encouragement and an awareness of our feelings.  I know by putting in the following quote it will make this post a long one….but I think it’s worthy of reading.  It can help us to recognize what we are really feeling and try to move all emotions and actions toward love.

LOVE vs. Fear     by Sarah Nean Bruce

LOVE IS UNCONDITIONAL (fear is conditional)

LOVE IS STRONG (fear is weak)

LOVE RELEASES (fear obligates)

LOVE SURRENDERS (fear binds)

LOVE IS HONEST (fear is deceitful)

LOVE TRUSTS (fear suspects)

LOVE ALLOWS (fear dictates)

LOVE GIVES (fear resists)

LOVE FORGIVES (fear blames)

LOVE IS COMPASSIONATE (fear pities)

LOVE CHOOSES (fear avoids)

LOVE IS KIND (fear is angry)

LOVE IGNITES (fear incites)

LOVE EMBRACES (fear repudiates)

LOVE CREATES (fear negates)

LOVE HEALS (fear hurts)

LOVE IS MAGIC (fear is superstitious)

LOVE ENERGIZES (fear saps)

LOVE IS AN ELIXIR (fear is a poison)

LOVE INSPIRES (fear worries)

LOVE DESIRES (fear Joneses)

LOVE IS PATIENT (fear is nervous)

LOVE IS BRAVE (fear is afraid)

LOVE IS RELAXED (fear is pressured)

LOVE IS BLIND (fear is judgmental)

LOVE RESPECTS (fear disregards)

LOVE ACCEPTS (fear rejects)

LOVE DREAMS (fear schemes)

LOVE WANTS TO PLAY (fear needs to control)

LOVE ENJOYS (fear suffers)

LOVE FREES (fear imprisons)

LOVE BELIEVES (fear deceives)

LOVE “WANTS” (fear “needs”)

LOVE versus fear: what do you feel?

I am Grateful!  How are you?

Leave a Reply

