Sauteed or Roasted Vegetables

Standard

Sometimes I get creative….. It seems like few and far between lately….. but sometimes I do!  I actually got in the mood for 10 minutes to cook!  That’s terrible to say….. but when there is just the two of you and very often we have things going in the evening…. I just don’t seem to cook as much as I should!

Tonight our entire meal consisted of sauteed vegetables.  Yep that’s it.  Just veggies.  And without trying to pat myself on the back too much….. they were excellent and quick to make!

This is similar to what our delicious veggies looked like tonight!

One must always start with a nice big sweet sliced onion when making sauteed or roasted vegetables… it’s a must!  The funny thing is….. don’t ask me to eat a raw onion…. but sauteed… hmmm hmmm.  I took a cooking class about a year ago and learned a few things I never knew.  Which is kind of pathetic really…..  but none the less it was new knowledge to me!

I learned how to caramelize an onion! ‘ What’s that?’, you say!!!  It’s true…. I had never caramelized an onion before that!  Goodness….. what a treat just by itself!  So my veggies tonight started off with a nice big sliced onion sauteing in a little EVVO.  Then I added some sliced carrots,  and a nice red pepper cut into big chunks.  I decided it needed some green in there and since I only use what I have when I make this….. I went to the freezer to pull out some frozen green beans.  After letting those saute for 5 or so min I added some chopped garlic, salt and pepper and some crushed rosemary…..and then I threw in some nice big chunks of portabello mushrooms.  Then to top it off for the last few minutes, I added some fresh spinach, a nice three cheese blend and threw some coarsely chopped pecans on top.  I know….   nuts sounds a little funky….. but it was good!

With just the two of us, we were able to have a nice big serving.  Probably more than we should have… but we learned lately that at least 1/2 of your plate should be vegetables.  Well….. since the whole thing was vegetables….. (with the exception of a little protein from the cheese and nuts…)  I think we qualified for keeping it balanced on the right side.  We should all be eating more vegetables than anything else anyway…. so there you go!

If you’ve never tried sauteed or roasted vegetables, I would highly recommend it!  They really are quick and easy and a nice delicious way to get those veggies in the diet!  Now if only I can keep myself motivated to make a nice meal for dinner every night…. we’ll be on our way to better health!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

About Wanda Copier

Hi! Thanks for joining me on my Gratitude blog! My goal is to empower my life for the better while hopefully giving you food for thought as to what you are grateful for in your life! Check out the 'About Me' tab to learn more about me!

2 responses »

  1. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say
    that I have truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

    • Thank you for your kind remarks. I’m glad you’ve enjoyed some of my posts. I do need to get back in the habit of doing a regular post. I have had some health challenges this last year, but I am doing much better now and need to start posting again. Thanks for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

