Being of Sound Mind


Some of you may disagree….. but I’m pretty sure I’m of sound mind!!  A little crazy and kookie here and there…. but still pretty sound!  Really, though… I am SO grateful for that!

Today I had the opportunity to visit with a neighbor that I grew up with.  I haven’t seen him for some time.  He dropped by my Mom’s Assisted Living place to say “Hi’ to her and I happened to be there.  It was good to see him and good to visit with him.  Let me just say that he has had a hard life.  Part of that comes with the struggles he has from NOT being of sound mind.  He suffers with bi-polar disease as well as schizophrenia.  He comes by it inherently and daily struggles with things most of us can’t even imagine.  Not only does he deal with that, but he also deals with a Brother who has children that are drug addicts and cause all kinds of problems that live in the old family home, which HE owns.  The poor guy doesn’t even sleep inside his own home because of the a fore mentioned.  But that’s not my topic right now.  It’s really about dealing with mental issues.

I can’t imagine what it would be like to be in such a self hating mode that you really don’t feel like you are worthy of much…. including someone else’s caring and love.  It truly broke my heart today to listen to some of the things he was saying.  I had no idea that he had suffered so much as a youngster.  No idea.  It’s only been the last few years that I was made aware of it.  He was of fairly sound mind today as we visited….but that’s with being on several medications and trying very hard to remain sober, which he struggles with daily also.  He talked of his love for my Mom and Dad who has loved as second parents.  He lost both of his parents years ago.  He was one devastated man when my Dad passed away a few years back.  I know he will feel the same when my Mom goes.

Even in his basically unstable mental condition, he still cares so much for the older people in my old neighborhood.  He checks in on the widows and widowers to make sure they are all right and if they need help with anything.  He made mention today of wishing he could get his CNA because he feels he would be good at it.  And I think so too.  I don’t know if it’s common with people like this…. but he is a very intelligent person.  I remember him being very smart when we were young.  I really think that if he had had the support and an early diagnosis of his problem and been treated for it that his life would be much different than it is now.  He is still very smart…. when he has his faculties about him.  Truly a sad life he has led…. but it really did bring to mind how blessed I really am…. in so many ways, but particularly today to be of sound mind.

I wish him well.  I know that someday he wil be released from all this mental turmoil and anguish, but in the meantime… I wish him well.

I am Grateful!  How are you?

Leave a Reply

