My Handy Man


I consider myself to be one of the luckiest girls around.  I really do.  I know I’ve blogged about being grateful for my husband before….. but today I’m blogging AND bragging about how grateful I am that he is a handy man!  Not all women have that blessing….. and even those that do can’t necessarily brag that their man can pretty much do anything handy.

I think the fact that he is an auto mechanic by trade makes his brain naturally able to ‘figure things out’.  He can usually look at anything and figure out how it works and what the problem is.  The only time there is a difficulty is if he doesn’t have the equipment and/or parts to fix it.  That is a problem we are facing right now.  When we moved to Riverton a few years ago, I was blessed enough to be in a position to be able to buy new furniture for my house.  One of the things we purchased was a couple of easy chairs for the living/family room.  It’s so nice to have a spot to be able to comfortably sit with your feet up.  I spend WAY too much time in my easy chair…… partially because that’s where I sit to work on my laptop.  It’s much less stress on my back working on the computer that way.

The last little while, the chair that my hubby sits in hasn’t been working properly.  The mechanism in the frame was falling apart and it wouldn’t ‘close’ right.  So….. today, my husband turns the chair upside down and takes it apart so he can fix it.  The only problem in completing this job is that he no longer has access to a welder and now we either need to buy or borrow one or pay to have someone weld it for us.  I think he would prefer the first option…. but it’s a matter of where do we store the darn thing if we get it?  One of the unfortunate things about living in a condo is the garage is WAY too small….. especially for a handy man!!  So, if any of you out there have a welder that you wouldn’t mind us using…… give me a holler!!

My husband really is very handy though and it has saved us thousands of dollars over the years.  Of course, there’s the obvious talent of repairing cars…… but because of his handy skills, we are pretty much ‘do it yourselfers’ at our house.  When we bought this condo, we knew we had a lot of remodeling to do before I could stand to live in it.  (N0tice how I said I could stand it…..)  One of the first things we did was put in wood floors and remodel the kitchen which we installed.  Instead of ordering all new cabinets, we reconfigured the layout, ordered a few new pieces, installed them ourselves and painted them all to match.  I should say my husband installed them…… I just stood around giving directions and holding a few things in place when needed!

We have completely finished off our basement since we’ve lived here and are planning on remodeling our master bath this summer.  I’m always amazed at how he can take my tile designs that I come up with and figure them out and make them look good too!  Some of those cuts aren’t easy and he still mathematically figures it out!  He’s installed electricity, built computers, put in sprinkler systems, re-roofed two houses we’ve lived in, repaired bicycles, built funiture and the list goes on!  He truly is an amazing handy man!  As I said in the beginning…. I consider myself to be one of the luckiest girls around!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

Leave a Reply

