Loving What Is

Standard

Isn’t this about the hardest concept we deal with?  I know it is for me.  While I look around me and find so much to be abundantly grateful for…… I can still seem to find things I dislike.  You know what I mean.  It can play into so many aspects of our lives.  For me personally, it seems to  always be putting myself down, in myriads of ways.

What is it with this self esteem thing?  Why do we all struggle with it so much?  It seems that when we are dissatisfied with ourselves, we are very good at finding the fault in others.  Whether is consciously or subconsciously….. we seem to find fault in others to perhaps make ourselves feel better.  Or look better in our own eyes.  Let’s just say that it’s easy to be judgmental, of ourselves as well as others.

I’m trying very hard to become a better person.  Heaven knows I’m far from perfect….. but I feel I’m trying to make a conscious effort to improve.  In so doing…. I’m studying a lot about the ‘law of attraction’.  Go ahead….. scoff at me if you must….. but I’m finding there really is a lot of truth to it.  I recently subscribed to Teresa Romain’s 12 Essentials for Greater Abundance in Everyday Life.  It’s a free email she sends out for 12 days discussing the essential things we need to be doing to create more abundance in our life.  I would highly recommend you go to her website and sign up for these free emails.  http://www.accessabundance.com     She brings up some really great points.  I hope she won’t mind if I use a couple of them here.

One of the most profound points is to look at the following and try to figure out what it says:

IAMNOWHERE

What do you see?  There are two ways to look at that…. one creates positive energy while the other one doesn’t.  First of all….. we are all SOMEWHERE!!  So we can’t really be no where….. it’s just our perception.  Her point is to accept that we are NOW HERE at this point in our life.  Maybe it’s not where we really want to be, financially, with our weight, in our relationships, etc…. but the fact remains…. you are NOW HERE!  Teresa puts it this way:  “To do so doesn’t mean you have to LIKE being “here” – but it does mean that you realize and accept that it’s where you’re at – for the moment.   And it’s this practice that frees you and your energy to take actions and make empowered choices that will help you get where you want to be.”

Another source that talks about his same idea is in a book called “Loving What Is” by Byron Katie.  Her approach is a little different in that she has you look at the other person or thing that is bothering you and then ask yourself 4 questions.  In dealing with the answers to those questions…. you come to accept things as they are and love people in-spite of it.… including yourself.  Now while it’s an interesting read, I honestly didn’t quite finish it because I felt like I needed to do ‘The Work” as I was reading.  My husband, on the other hand,  just read it through.  Although I think to get the most use out of the book you should do ‘The Work’…. I don’t see any harm in reading it completely and then going back through it.  I’ll have to do that…. when it gets returned to me by the person who borrowed it.  ANYWAY…. I just found a link to a pdf copy of her ‘little book’ online.  It’s a smaller version and  will give you the basic concept if you want to  check it out.   http://www.thework.com/downloads/Little%20Book.pdf

Getting back to my point….!!!!  The whole idea of telling ourselves we aren’t thin enough or rich enough or good enough, etc… is creating a feeling of scarcity…. which does not allow the good things to appear in our lives.  Oh yes…. we are getting results from the universal ‘law of attraction’….. just not the ones we want!  And it’s because we are focused on what we don’t have instead of what we do have.  (Hence one of my reasons for creating this blog….)  So to paraphrase what Teresa Romain says…. Celebrate what you have, what you did get done, what actions you did take no matter how small….. don’t focus on what you didn’t do or don’t have!  Be graceful for NOW… no matter what now looks like!  Love yourself for who you are and be grateful for what you have now!  Life will only get better when you do!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

Leave a Reply

