A Full Cupboard


Have you ever stood in front of a well stocked pantry or fridge and said:  “There’s nothing to eat!”  It’s kind of like standing in front of an over stuffed closet and saying:  “I have nothing to wear!”

Aren’t we funny creatures?  Do you think the fact that we are blessed with so much we just take it for granted and forget how truly blessed we are?  I think we have a tendency to get into “The World Owes Me a Living” syndrome….  much like the old cartoon with the Ant and the Grasshopper!  Do you remember that?  Here’s the link if you want to jog your memory:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HAd0jOuQg8o    We kind of take it all for granted and just expect it to be there!

Today was one of those days…… not so much ‘There’s nothing to eat’, but more of ‘What should I fix for dinner?’  Isn’t it nice that I had a choice?  I mean really….. I can think of things right this very minute that I could have fixed for dinner that didn’t even cross my mind at the the time!  Of course…. tonight I chose a quick and easy way out…..!  I happened to find a frozen pizza in the freezer out in the garage and lost all motivation (not that I had any…) to fix a meal that took any effort.  Sheez!  Sometimes our world is too convenient!  And that’s not good…..because I really do try and make better food choices for the most part.  OK… OK…. so why did I buy the frozen pizza in the first place, right?  Good question.  The answer is simple.  A Costco coupon and a weak moment!  The funny thing is….. if I am going to choose not to eat very healthy and have a pizza….. I really ought to go somewhere and at least have really a good one…. not a frozen one!!!   Papa Murphy’s comes to mind…. or Pizza Hut…..  but I digress!!

I am very blessed in my house to have a well stocked pantry as well as food storage in the basement.  Though my food storage supply is not as good as it should be…. at least there is a little there!  Which makes me so much better off than many people!  Particularly in light of all the things that have been happening around the world!  Though I don’t think a food storage supply will do much good if it’s washed out to sea by a tsunami….  or blown away or ruined by a tornado….  I do believe that our Creator will take care of us for being faithful and being prepared!  I am very lucky to be where I am.

I hope that your cupboards are full and that you are blessed daily with the things you need!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

Leave a Reply

