Jim Rohn


In my quest to become a better person….. I have become a huge fan of Jim Rohn.  Unfortunately,  my real awakening to him as such a fabulous mentor wasn’t until about 6 months ago.  Jim, sadly passed away in December of 2009.  Though I never heard him speak live and obviously will never get to be there in person…..  he has a big influence on me right now!

If you don’t know who Jim Rohn is all I can say is:  Google it!  It’s well worth the search!  You will find thousands of results on Google for him.  And dozens and dozens of videos of him on Youtube.  Another search well worth your time.

I am currently reading an ebook version of his book: My Philosophy for Successful Living.  Though this is a very small book and a quick read…. it’s chalk full of valuable information.  You can purchase it through Amazon at a very nominal fee.  What I love most about reading this book right now is that I can ‘hear’ him reading it to me!  Now, I know I said that I hadn’t seen Jim live anywhere…. but I have had the opportunity to listen to recordings of him speaking.  He was such a great speaker!  So gifted in telling it like it is while interjecting some humor too.  He likes to use analogies too which I think help give a visual of what he is describing.  Probably one the best analogies he uses is the Parable of the Sower from the Bible.   He compares it to succeeding in your business.  It’s so well done and humorous.  Here’s a summary of what he says about the Law of Sowing and Reaping:

So . . . the message is simple. Start with ambition and excellent seed (your story) . . . keep on sowing the seed (perservere).
Determination, Patience and the Law of Averages will carry you past the birds . . . the weather . . . the thorns ~ to harvest time ….. !

Perhaps the best way for me to tell you about Jim Rohn is to share some of the things he’s most famous for saying.  Then I think you’ll understand why I like his ‘philosophy’!

  • Character isn’t something you were born with and can’t change, like your fingerprints. It’s something you weren’t born with and must take responsibility for forming.
  • Don’t just read the easy stuff. You may be entertained by it, but you will never grow from it.
  • Don’t wish it were easier, wish you were better.
  • Failure is not a single, cataclysmic event. You don’t fail overnight. Instead, failure is a few errors in judgement, repeated every day.
  • Success is nothing more than a few simple disciplines, practiced every day.
  • Happiness is not something you postpone for the future; it is something you design for the present.
  • Ideas can be life-changing. Sometimes all you need to open the door is just one more good idea.
  • If you don’t design your own life plan, chances are you’ll fall into someone else’s plan. And guess what they have planned for you? Not much.
  • Learning is the beginning of wealth. Learning is the beginning of health. Learning is the beginning of spirituality. Searching and learning is where the miracle process all begins.
  • Some people plant in the spring and leave in the summer. If you’re signed up for a season, see it through. You don’t have to stay forever, but at least stay until you see it through.
  • There are only 3 colors, 10 digits, and 7 notes; its what we do with them that’s important.
  • Work harder on yourself than you do on your job.
Hopefully this gives you a idea of why I love to listen and read and listen and read again the stuff from Jim Rohn!   So many more great quotes can be found at: http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/authors/j/jim_rohn
Thank you Jim Rohn for the influence you have been in my life so far and for the blessing you are in so many people’s lives!  This is a man who made a difference in the world!
I am Grateful!  How are you?
One Reply to “Jim Rohn”

Leave a Reply

