Healthy Eating


Tonight I learned a lot.  I have tried the last year or so to become more aware and better about eating healthy.  Though I don’t always succeed and I seem to have some times when I give in to all that sugar and other stuff that’s bad for me…..  I still try to make steps toward moving to a healthier lifestyle.  I think it’s a process that takes time and determination.

It’s funny how when you decide to move in a certain direction that certain people will come into your life that can help you in that path.  I’ve had several of those within the last year.  So many of them come in my pathway in a totally unexpected way!

I learned about the Green Smoothie Girl (Robyn Openshaw) from a friend of mine who started working for Blendtec.  He had put together a website to refer his customers to that had a couple of recommendations for people, one of which was the Green Smoothie Girl.  Since discovering her through his suggestion, I have been receiving her newsletter and occasionally reading her blog.  Her story of how she became the Green Smoothie Girl is rather interesting.  I got to hear it in person tonight as I attended a class she gave here in the Salt Lake area.  She understands the difficulty in eating correctly firsthand, but was driven to it because of some health issues in her family.  If you want to read her whole story, check out her website:  http://www.greensmoothiegirl.com/

Tonight in her class she talked about how the standard American diet has declined to such an unhealthy eating level over the last several decades that we are now in a downward spiral in creating unhealthy lifestyles in future generations.  Her goal is to try and educate people on the importance of eating whole raw foods.  Her hope is to reach young Mothers and their families.  She feels that by educating them on the importance of eating right, and getting their families to make that switch that it will save future generations from dying at a younger and younger age because of disease.  I believe she’s right.

There are a lot of changes I need to make in my eating habits to be getting the kind of nutrition that Robyn spoke about tonight.  I’m going to start by consuming a green smoothie everyday.  We got to sample her recipe tonight at her class.  I’ll be honest and say that for me, it wasn’t the best tasting smoothie I’ve ever had…. but it wasn’t the worst thing I’ve ever tasted either.  It’s actually very palatable, just not a taste I’m used to.  I have a feeling that by incorporating it into my daily diet that I will acquire a taste for it in no time.   Besides….. several people claim it has helped them loose weight!!  I did like her philosophy that consuming green smoothies is not really a diet,  it’s a life style of eating healthy.  We don’t have to deprive ourselves of every little thing, but we should be eating healthy 95% of the time.

While hanging around after the class in the hopes of getting a chance to chat with Robyn, my husband and I meet a very cute couple.  John was the guinea pig Robyn picked to come to the front of the class room and ‘eat‘ the green ingredients that are in a smoothie.  She was trying to demonstrate how hard it would be to eat all of that in one sitting and how much longer it would take to consume them in that way.  Well….. John ate ALL of it.  And it was a LOT!!  It took him a while…..but he did it!  Not anyone in that room expected him to finish it, including Robyn….. but he did!  Because he had done that, this couple had struck up a conversation with him after the class.  While talking to them, I found out that she has a pretty well known blog about healthy eating.  (See what I mean about people being put in your pathway? )  Tonight I came home and looked it up on the internet.  Her name is Tammie Nelson, and she too has an interesting story about how she came into a healthier lifestyle.  Her blog is full of recipes that she has ‘healthified’, as she calls it.  As she says in her blog; “I take fun, comforting, very unhealthy Standard American versions and I make them well Healthy!”  I think I’ll be subscribing to another blog!  You can check her out at:   http://www.simplehealthytasty.com/

I’m grateful that I had a fun night of learning.  A night of meeting inspiring people that make me want to better my life!  Thanks for the inspiration ladies!

Have you ever tried a Green Smoothie?  If so, what did you think of it?

I am Grateful!  How are you?

One Reply to “Healthy Eating”

  1. It was so fun to watch your husband chomp down all those greens! If he can eat that he will love ALL my recipes! 😉 It was great to meet the two of you! I look forward to reading more about what you are grateful for!

Leave a Reply

