Ardeth and Heber Kapp

Standard

I have been so blessed in my life to know some pretty amazing people.  I mean….. really blessed!  From time to time I will take the opportunity to blog about them because they are just that awesome!!

Today I want to talk about Ardeth and Heber Kapp.  I was blessed to have Sister Kapp as my 4th grade teacher.  She was such a wonderful nurturing teacher….. truly one of my all time favorites.  I’ve always felt a special connection to her.  She has become very well known since that time in our 4th grade class room!  One I respect and admire.

Heber B. and Ardeth G. Kapp..... I love, love, love this couple!

In 8th grade…. I was lucky enough to have her husband for one of my many teachers.  Oh…. how I loved Mr. Kapp!  In so many ways!  What a delight it was to get to know the other half of Sister Kapp!  How many teachers do you like well enough that you go and visit them during the summer months!  Really?  Come on….. who does that?  Well…. ME!!  I loved visiting with them and always felt loved and welcomed when we dropped by, very often unannounced.   The Kapp’s were never able to have children of their own, so they were ‘parent’s to many, many youth!  And they were and are loved!

For those of you that are LDS, you will recognize her name as one of the General Young Women President’s….. now THAT’S nurturing the youth!  What a great example she was on them and continues to be. As I write this, I’m listening to an archived talk by her and enjoying it very much.  After Sister Kapp’s service as the General Young Women President, she was released to assist her husband who was called as Mission President in the Canada Vancouver Mission.  After they had completed 3 years there, they were then called to preside over the Cardston Alberta Temple, which is yet another 3 year calling.  They are truly an example of many years of loving service.  They are two of my best examples of unconditional love I have ever had the pleasure to know!

I’m so grateful I had the opportunity not only to be blessed with them as teachers, but to be blessed with them as friends!  Oh…How I would love to visit with them again!  Thank you Brother and Sister Kapp for helping to make me what I am today!  God bless you!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

About Wanda Copier

Hi! Thanks for joining me on my Gratitude blog! My goal is to empower my life for the better while hopefully giving you food for thought as to what you are grateful for in your life! Check out the 'About Me' tab to learn more about me!

3 responses »

  1. Hello and thank you for this gratitude blog. I’ve never really replyied before and I am anxious to do so today. Yesterday July 29, 2012 I gave a lesson in Young Women’s, it was about resisting sin. I found the fabel that Ardeth Kapp wrote about “The Tragedy at RAYAD” and read the story to the young women. They all enjoyed it so very much, quite a few of the young ladies complemented me on the lesson and I attribute it mostly to the story that Ardeth Kapp wrote. If this message can get to her in some way that would be so great. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

