Produce Man


Today I went to the grocery store to pick up a few items.  Actually, it was a super store not just a grocery store.  After I found the non-food items that I had really made the trip for, I decided to check out the produce area.  It had caught my eye as I entered the store so I wanted to check some things out.

As I was standing there picking out some lemons and limes, the produce people, in this case 1 woman and 2 men, were picking through some other fruit items.  I happened to overhear the woman tell the one man, whom she was obviously training, that he needed to go through and pick out the bad stuff.  I swear she also told him to put the newer items on the top.  That’s the part that kind of amazed me.  For some reason I expected the ‘older’ stuff to be moved to the top.  I guess the moving of fragile fruit too often can cause more bruising, so that really might make sense.  Depending on how busy the store is, I suppose they move through produce quickly anyway.  Particularly if it is marked at a low price.  Either way…… I hadn’t really thought about what the produce people go through to try and keep the freshest items available to the public!

I guess, when you think about it, there are a lot of jobs that people do that in so many ways go ‘unnoticed’ or ‘unappreciated’.  Today I was grateful for the produce man for keeping the produce stocked and clean and looking nice.  At least this store’s display looked really great. Though in reality, I wouldn’t want the job….. I appreciated their efforts on my behalf.

Thanks to the many people out there that work at similar jobs that make my experience more of a pleasant one.  Here’s a pat on the back from me to you….. since you probably hardly ever get those!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

Leave a Reply

