Good Attitude


Have you ever been around a person who just sucked all the energy out of a room?  And not in a good way?

Yesterday my husband played in a softball tournament.  One of the teams they played against had one of the most unpleasing team members I have ever seen!  It didn’t matter what the call was or how well someone made a play…. he was constantly complaining!  No one could do anything right.  He contested call after call and even got mad at the Umpire when his own team batted out of order and he didn’t catch it!  (Bare in mind there was no one in the score keepers box)  I mean…… who turns in their own team for batting out of order?  It probably wasn’t even done on purpose!   Apparently it was more than the guy could take, because he stormed out of the ballpark!

I found out a little later that he used to play on our team a few years ago.  The funny thing is…. I don’t remember!  Maybe it’s because my mind chose to block out such an unpleasant memory!  It was his bad attitude that caused our team owner not to ask him back the next year.  Imagine that!  I jokingly asked someone if he was married… and they said NO…. divorced…. in fact twice!  Well…. that was a no brainer!  It’s awful to say, but I can’t imagine living with someone that is so negative all the time!  I can’t even imagine what it would be like to live with yourself!

I see myself as a relatively happy person.  I’m not perfect, but I try to remain positive and see the good in things.  Sometimes I fall short and have to re-visit my thoughts…. but for the most part, I’m a pretty happy person.  Of course, the fact that I’m married to a jewel of a man, have terrific kids and have extremely nice living conditions helps….. but I still think I’ve always tried to be happy.  Living with the attitude of “I’ll be happy when…..”  is not a way to live.  All the laws of the universe and religion teach us that we need to be happy with what we have now, no matter what the state, in order to bring abundance into our lives.  If you can’t be grateful for what you have now….. what makes you think you’ll be grateful for it when you have what you think you want?

Have you noticed how people who complain about certain things all the time only seem to attract more of what they are complaining about?  It’s back to the theory of ‘we are what we think about’ or we create what we think about.  Buddha said,  “We are what we think. All that we are arises with our thoughts. With our thoughts, we make the world.”  Our minds are very powerful.  I’ve heard countless stories of people who overcome the odds just by being determined and believing and thinking they would.  There are many, many, many books out there about this concept, but one of my favorites is AS A MAN THINKETH by James Allen.  It was written years ago, but the principles are as true now as they were then.  You can even download free copies of it off the internet.  Just Google it and you should find a free e-book link.  Another great book, but a little harder read is THINK AND GROW RICH by Napoleon Hill.  For a small shipping fee, you can get a free copy of that here.

I am grateful that I try to maintain a good attitude most of the time and that I try to surround myself with others who do the same.  Thanks to all of you who try to see the good in things and try to feel gratitude for what you have now.  It’s a much more pleasant way to live!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

Leave a Reply

