Getting to Know You

Standard

There just aren’t enough hours in a day sometimes!  Not only do I have a lot that I need to get done….but I have a lot of people I need to get to know!

How often do we have the opportunity to really get to know someone?  Think about all the different kinds of associations you have.  Work, church, social activities, etc., etc…..  How well do you know all of these people that you associate with?  I mean really know them!  Not just what they do now, but where they grew up and the things they’ve experienced in their life.  We may work with some of these people fairly closely through our associations, but how often do you get a chance to sit down and talk about their life and what they’ve done or gone through?  Usually not very often.  You may be close to a few people and know a lot about them, but there are a lot of others that you really don’t know that much about, right?  At least that’s how it is for me.

Tonight I had an opportunity to get to know a sister in my ward just a little better.  Though there’s still so much about her that I don’t know…. I was intrigued with what I learned.  It’s really amazing to find out what things people have gone through in their lives.  It usually makes you appreciate your own life.  I learned some interesting things about adoption tonight.  Things I wasn’t aware of that could happen, and yet how blessed they felt that it all worked out.  It made me a little more aware of the fact that I don’t really know that much about a lot of people in my ward and neighborhood.  Of course, given the fact that we have only lived here for 4 years could contribute to that.  However…. as I think back on the neighborhood we lived in for 21 years before we moved here, there are a lot of people in that area that I didn’t take the time to get to know very well either!  What missed opportunity!

Our time has a lot to do with us not taking the time to get to know someone like we could.  But what a blessing it is when we do!  Though I didn’t get to know her super well tonight…. I’m grateful for the chance that I had to visit with Elaine.  I learned a lot and appreciate the awareness it gave me that I need to take that opportunity to get to know people better!  Thank heavens for a little social activity tonight that gave me that chance for a few brief minutes!  I just need many many more such activities to get to know lots and lots of people!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

 

About Wanda Copier

Hi! Thanks for joining me on my Gratitude blog! My goal is to empower my life for the better while hopefully giving you food for thought as to what you are grateful for in your life! Check out the 'About Me' tab to learn more about me!

Leave a Reply

