Faith


I’ve probably mentioned before that I have the opportunity to be a voluntary worker in the Jordan River Temple.  I have the job of being able to serve and assist those who come to the Lord’s temple to worship.

People come to the temple for various reasons.  I think one of the main reasons most people come is because they want to feel of the spirit and be reminded of the special blessings they have been given.  Of course, the main purpose of the work that goes on there is to give the dead the opportunity to receive and chose to accept those blessings that they didn’t get a chance to receive while they were alive.  Of course, we believe they have the right to not accept them too.

There are many people who would testify that they know for certain through a strong feeling of the spirit, that the person they have done the work for has accepted it.  Many people come to the temple so in tune with the spirit that they can feel the presence of those that have passed on who’s work they are doing.  I have seen many patrons brought to tears because they have felt the spirit of gratitude from that person.  Sometimes it’s even hard for us as workers to do our job because the spirit is so strong and we are moved to tears also.

Many people come to the temple for comfort.  They are struggling with many personal issues that they need to feel comforted for.  Being in the Lord’s temple is one way to draw close to his spirit and receive answers to prayers.  It is a very personal experience, but you can usually tell when someone is there with heavy burdens or concerns on their mind.

Today I got to serve a Sister who was obviously struggling with some things in her life.  It’s not our position to pry.  We are only there to serve and help comfort when we can.  It was the kind of experience for me personally, where I was feeling her sweet spirit so strong and her need for comfort to the point that I was having a hard time doing what I needed to do.  It’s hard to talk when you’re choked up!

I’m so grateful for the opportunity I have to share in those experiences with patrons as they come to the temple.  It’s such a blessing seeing them put their faith to work by trusting in the Lord.  It strengthens my own faith.  There’s no other place on earth where you can feel the kind of peace and comfort quite like you can in the Lord’s temple.  How truly blessed I am!

I’m grateful for my faith in God.  I’m grateful to know that I can turn to him in times of worry and concern.  “Cast thy burden upon the Lord, and he shall sustain thee….” Psalm 55:22  I’m also grateful to know that I can express my gratitude to him in times of happiness too!  A grateful heart … comes through expressing gratitude to our Heavenly Father for His blessings and to those around us for all that they bring into our lives.  Thomas S. Monson

Today, I’m grateful for my faith….. any way you define it.

I am Grateful!  How are you?

Leave a Reply

