Reconnecting


Can you image what it would be like to lose the connection with our television, computer server or telephone service?   Oh…. wait….we’ve all experienced that before, haven’t we?  But what is the longest you’ve been without that service?  A few hours?  Maybe a day at the most…. unless you’ve been around an area of disaster….. but don’t we just hate it when that happens?  Aren’t you just so grateful when the service is working again?  We are so attached to these items for whatever reasons….. but they’ve become a daily part of our lives….. a part that we just can’t seem to live without.

Have you ever felt that way about a person?  Someone that you love and adore so much that you just can’t imagine your life without them?  We’ve all had people in our lives that have meant a lot to us and we hold dear memories with and about them….. So why is it that we can lose that connection with those people, for whatever reason, and go 30 or 40 years or even longer before we reconnect again?  Too bad we just aren’t as excited about trying to reconnect relationships as we are about reconnecting our service to an electronic device.  Now granted….. it’s through those devices we are reconnecting…..  but it would just be nice sometimes, to want to reconnect with those great people in our past and badly as we want our service back!

With the click of a button you can find almost anyone now a days.  It’s actually almost scary….. but so wonderful in so many other ways.

I’ve had the opportunity, as I’m sure a lot of you have, to reconnect with people via the internet.  Mostly through social media, which for me, is pretty much Facebook.   I haven’t quite got into ‘tweeting’ yet, and I don’t use Linked In much, or other similar networks, but times are changing so I probably should hone up on those skills!

A while back, I was thinking about some things from my past, which lead me to thinking about certain people and wondering where they were.  So…. like I have so many times….. I put her name in Facebook and Voila!  There she was.  Though she didn’t really have her page set up to be able to request her as a friend, I was able to send her a message and ask a few questions to make sure she was who I thought she was.  She responded to my message and said that she doesn’t really use Facebook, but she has a blog that I could subscribe to to stay in touch.  Well…. of course I did, but we also took the time to write each other through Facebook to do a little ‘catching up’.  It’s been so great and I really enjoy her blog posts.

Last night, we had a little HS get together again. There were a few people there this time that hadn’t come before. It was so fun to visit with them!  One of my favorite reconnections of he night was with a guy that I grew up with that lived near me.  We were in the same Ward growing up.  I didn’t recognize him at first because I was so busy looking at his wife and trying to figure out if I was suppose to know her, that I didn’t realize the ‘classmate’ I was suppose to know was him and not her!  Once I asked someone who it was, I ran right over and gave him a big hug.  It was so good to visit for a few minutes and find out what he’d been up to.  I’m sure there’ so much more we could have talked about, but I enjoyed it very much!  Unfortunately, he doesn’t do FB, but his wife does, so I can at least stay in touch a little that way.

Then a few weeks ago, I blogged about how grateful I was that I had had a Pen Pal as a kid and wondered about her and again….. through the power of the internet and FB….  I found her!  We have since reconnected and ‘caught up’ a little too.  It’s just so fun to find these people and restore a little of what was a great relationship when we were younger.

Once again….. as I posted before….. I’m also making new ‘old’ friends.  Getting to know some friends that I’ve known for years, but haven’t really ‘known‘!  Thanks for the great chats last night, LaRae, Lee, Steve and Vicki.  And all the others too!  I just felt like I had more time to visit and get to know those 4  better.   I love learning wonderful things about people that I didn’t know before!  Isn’t growing up grand?

I am Grateful!  How are you?

Leave a Reply

