A Sense of Humor

Standard

What would we do without humor?  Life would be pretty dull.

It’s true that while one person may find something extremely funny, the next person won’t think it funny at all!  We all have a different sense of humor.  For instance…..

I pretty much have always loved slapstick humor.  I used to get a kick out of the old Three Stooges movies.  I always loved the I Love Lucy show….. and Carol Burnett….. you get the picture.  My husband, on the other hand, does not think slap stick is funny at all.  He thinks it’s out right stupid!  He hates Lucille Ball and Carol Burnett!  Yes….. it makea movie choices pretty interesting for the two of us.   Sometimes I will just watch something on my own.  You know, the funny thing about him having a different sense of humor…..  He is always cracking dumb, corny jokes!  Now how ironic is that?

You’ve heard the saying, laughter is the best medicine, right?   Well….. a search on the internet found many sources supporting that theory.    Here is a quote from Helpguide.org:   Humor and laughter strengthen your immune system, boost your energy, diminish pain, and protect you from the damaging effects of stress. Best of all, this priceless medicine is fun, free, and easy to use.

Laughter is a powerful antidote to stress, pain, and conflict. Nothing works faster or more dependably to bring your mind and body back into balance than a good laugh. Humor lightens your burdens, inspires hopes, connects you to others, and keeps you grounded, focused, and alert.

With so much power to heal and renew, the ability to laugh easily and frequently is a tremendous resource for surmounting problems, enhancing your relationships, and supporting both physical and emotional health.

Wow!  Who knew?  I guess I understand now why I feel so much better after a good laugh!

I love being around funny and witty people!   (OK….. every now and then my husband is witty!!)  My daughter has been accused of being witty…… which she is….. and she appreciates the complement.  Funny people can keep things lite and lively in a room….. as long as they know when it’s appropriate and when it isn’t.

Oh, my goodness!  Have you ever seen the website People of Walmart.com?  Scary!  But funny!  I swear some of those people only dress up that way and go to Walmart in hopes of being captured on film!!!  There is a young girl named Jessica Frech that wrote a song called ‘People of Walmart’ and made a music video of it showing some of the pictures from the website along with some humorous footage of her and her friends and posted it on Youtube.  Quite hilarious.

Things like that make me laugh.  I’m grateful that I can find some things in life humorous……  even if my husband doesn’t think they are all funny…..  I’m grateful for funny friends who share and tell jokes all the time.  Sometimes I’m even humored by my Facebook friends!

I was going to share a funny story here (at least I thought it was funny) about my dog Scooter with a helium Balloon— but maybe it wouldn’t be as funny trying to explain it in writing as it was to watch it!  Oh well….. it still made me laugh.  Does that make it one of those “I guess you had to be there'” moments?   Sometimes trying to recreate the image of something that made you laugh to another person is impossible to do!

I’m grateful for humor and funny people and friends.  Of course, I’m grateful when people understand that there’s a time and a place for it too!  All of life can’t be funny, nor should it be!   But I’m awfully glad that I don’t take everything seriously!  And I’m glad to find verification that laughter really can be the best medicine!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

Check out more about laughter being good for you at:  http://www.helpguide.org/life/humor_laughter_health.htm

About Wanda Copier

Hi! Thanks for joining me on my Gratitude blog! My goal is to empower my life for the better while hopefully giving you food for thought as to what you are grateful for in your life! Check out the 'About Me' tab to learn more about me!

Leave a Reply

