Cheesies and Family

Standard

So far, my own children have always lived close around me.  That will be changing soon….. very soon as a matter of fact…. but that’s a subject for another day.

Both of my Sister’s have kids that live out of town.  This weekend, many of those family members were in town.

This is similar to what our Chessies look like. Though the most popular bread to make them on is the round Muffin Bread from Dick's Market. Oh.... and don't forget to sprinkle them with Lemon Pepper!

Some were here to be with family members to share in some special times like baby blessings and baptisms.  Other’s were here because they had time off and wanted to spend it with their immediate family members.  Whatever the reason…… it was an excuse to get together to visit and have Cheesies!

Let me explain what Cheesies are.  Cheesies are basically an open face broiled cheese sandwich.  A slice of bread with cheddar cheese placed under a broiler till the cheese is bubbly and hot.  That’s a cheesie.  Maybe you call them something else…. but that’s what we’ve always called them.  For as long as I can remember…… we made cheesies on Sunday nights.  It was quick and easy and something everyone loved to eat, but best of all….. it was a reason to come to Grandma and Grandpa’s house.  It was family time.

It used to be my siblings and I used to bring our own young children to Grandma and Grandpa’s house for Cheesies.  Then, as the families grew and had kids of their own…. the next generation came to Grandma and Grandpa’s for Cheesies.  It was a tradition.  Not every one was able to come every Sunday….. but it was surprising how many did.

My Dad passed away 5 years ago and my Mom now lives in an Assisted Living center.  There are no more gatherings at the family home where I grew up.  Though it’s hard, and not quite as fun gathering at the Assisted Living center….. it still means a lot to get together.  I feel like I don’t really even know my nieces and nephews children.  With them living so far away, I don’t get to see them often.  I’m grateful when I get that chance.

I’m grateful for the tradition of cheesies and the fact that it creates family gatherings.  Though cheesie nights are few and far between now….  I’m grateful when they happens!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

About Wanda Copier

Hi! Thanks for joining me on my Gratitude blog! My goal is to empower my life for the better while hopefully giving you food for thought as to what you are grateful for in your life! Check out the 'About Me' tab to learn more about me!

Leave a Reply

