Dirty Rotten Scoundrels

Standard

Have I ever mentioned that I love musical theater??  Oh….. that’s right….. I have.  But, sometimes I just can’t get enough of it!  While I love to be in shows myself….  I also enjoy being an audience member.  Tonight….. I was grateful to be an audience member while watching Dirty Rotten Scoundrels at Hale Theater!

I have had the opportunity of being in some really good shows.  Sometimes even with my children.  While it’s fun to be in a show together with them, the bad part is not always being able to ‘watch’ them!  Sometimes you’re not on stage when they are so you miss some of the good stuff they do.  That’s when being an audience member is better.   Though non of my kids are in the show I saw tonight….. there were still several members of the cast that I knew, and it was as so fun to be supporting them by watching.  What phenomenal talent.  What a great show.

David Tinney and Darick Pead in Dirty Rotten Scoundrels

The other day I blogged about humor.  Now, this is one of those shows that makes you laugh!  Not only is it well written, but the people in it have terrific comic timing, making the humor even funnier.  Split a gut funny.  Then, to top it off….. there was a moment of impromptu humor added to the show tonight.  There was an audience member there tonight that had what I would call a ‘squeaky’ laugh.  It’s very noticeable and tends to get annoying after a while.  I’ve been to the theater before when this audience member has been there.  It really does start to grate on your nerves.  However, the classic funny moment in the show tonight came when David Tinney (playing Lawrence) pulled a can of WD40 out of his jacket and sprayed a few spots on the wheelchair wheels….  Darick (playing Freddy) looking puzzled and said: “What are you doing?” and David replied:  “I’m just trying to get rid of that incessant squeak!”  The audience came unglued with loud laughter and roaring applause!   I’m just not sure our ‘squeaker’ appreciated it….. but it was a funny moment that everyone else loved.

This show truly is brilliant.  The music is great and so are the voices.  The story line brings a surprise ending that will knock your socks off.  If you haven’t gotten tickets yet and you live around here……. RUN… don’t walk!  It’s a smash hit that is selling out very quickly.  So worth every cent.  It only runs a few more weeks.   I’m so excited that we have tickets to go back and see the other cast next week!  This is even one for those people who don’t think they like musical theater.  It’s Brilliant!  Thanks Darick, David, Delaney, Debra,  and all the other cast members for such a delightful evening!  I’m grateful I got to see you!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

 

About Wanda Copier

Hi! Thanks for joining me on my Gratitude blog! My goal is to empower my life for the better while hopefully giving you food for thought as to what you are grateful for in your life! Check out the 'About Me' tab to learn more about me!

Leave a Reply

