Compiling for a Talk

Standard

I know…. it’s not my favorite thing to do…. talk in Church, but the experience of gathering all the information is always enlightening.

This has been a crazy week.  It’s been very hard to find the time to concentrate on my topic.  I’ve had things running through my head and tried to get a book read on the subject, but didn’t quite finish it.  I did however, find an article by the author of the book I was trying to read that was kind of an abbreviation of the book…. so that helped!  In fact…. this author happens to be my husbands cousin!  She’s a terrific writer and I was thrilled when she mentioned this book in a conversation with someone on Facebook.  I was lucky enough to have caught the conversation so that I could ask her how to get a hold of her book.  She graciously sent me a copy.  Thanks Anya!!  You’re the best…. and I will finish it, even though it didn’t happen in time for my talk!

Giving a talk is like preparing for a lesson in Church.  We read and study and search and pray it will all come together.  The problem with a talk is, you only have about 15 min. to give all the information you’ve found!  At least with a lesson you have about 30 to 40 min to cram in 2 hours worth of stuff you’ve read and learned!

The most rewarding part about compiling all the information for a talk is I learn so much more than I could ever talk about in 15 min!  That’s the blessing of being on this side of a talk…. or should I say pulpit?  Hopefully, what I’ve put together will strike a cord with someone in the congregation!  If not… I hope they will at least enjoy my song!  Since the talk is on Sharing your Talents… I kind of figured  a song should be a part of my talk!

I’m grateful for the opportunity to speak, though I don’t want to do it again any time soon…..  but I’m even more grateful for the opportunity to compile the information!  Too bad it takes things like this to get us to study sometimes!!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

About Wanda Copier

Hi! Thanks for joining me on my Gratitude blog! My goal is to empower my life for the better while hopefully giving you food for thought as to what you are grateful for in your life! Check out the 'About Me' tab to learn more about me!

Leave a Reply

