17 Miracles

Standard

Just got home from seeing the movie 17 Miracles.  It’s quite a reminder of what those early handcart companies went through to get to the Salt Lake Valley.

I think it’s so hard to portray, in just under 2 hours, what they really suffered and to really get a grasp of it.  So few stories can really be told in such a short time. But the movie did a wonderful job of telling the ones they did.   Thankfully there is a lot of  documentation of those experiences that went on.  It amazes me of the faith those Saints had.  I often wonder if I could have been as faithful.

While the movie showed some amazing miracles that went on during the journey of those faithful Saints, I wonder how many miracles there are that go on around us everyday that go unnoticed.  That thought brought to mind the lyrics to Amy Grant’s “Angels Watching Over Me” song:

God only knows the times my life was threatened just today
A reckless car ran out of gas before it ran my way
Near misses all around me, accidents unknown
Though I never see with human eyes the hands that lead me home.
But I know they’re all around me all day and through the night.
When the enemy is closing in, I know sometimes they fight
To keep my fight from falling, I’ll never turn away
If you’re asking whats protecting me, then you’re gonna hear me say:

Got His angels watching over me, every move I make,
Angles watching over me!
Angels watching over me, every step I take,
Angels watching over me!

Though I never see with human eyes, the hands that lead me home.

How many times have you had a close call with something and realized you had been protected?   I know I’ve had that happen several times.  I’ve almost had to pull over to the side of the road just to catch my breath in realization of what almost happened!  But those are the ones we DO notice….. what about the ones we don’t know about?  Do we take the time to express gratitude for His protection?

I’m grateful for the big and little miracles that I see happening around me.  I’m grateful for the reminder to realize that things are happening everyday that I’m unaware of, and that I need to express gratitude for being protected and guided.  Thank you to 17 Miracles for the reminder that God still performs miracles in our time.  Big and small.

What are the miracles that have happened in your life?

I am Grateful!  How are you?

About Wanda Copier

Hi! Thanks for joining me on my Gratitude blog! My goal is to empower my life for the better while hopefully giving you food for thought as to what you are grateful for in your life! Check out the 'About Me' tab to learn more about me!

Leave a Reply

