Hope

Standard

Boy am I full of hope tonight!!  I have high hopes of a quick healing of my current ‘issue’.  I’m doing everything in my power with natural means to help it heal.  I have faith it will happen. Actually….. I know it will happen…. my hope is that it’s sooner rather than later.  So what is the difference between faith and hope?

The following is from a book by Martin Luther called “The Way of Faith”.

The question occurs to us, What difference is there between faith and hope? We find it difficult to see any difference. Faith and hope are so closely linked that they cannot be separated. Still there is a difference between them.      

First, hope and faith differ in regard to their sources. Faith originates in the understanding, while hope rises in the will.

Secondly, they differ in regard to their functions. Faith says what is to be done. Faith teaches, describes, directs. Hope exhorts the mind to be strong and courageous.

Thirdly, they differ in regard to their objectives. Faith concentrates on the truth. Hope looks to the goodness of God.

Fourthly, they differ in sequence. Faith is the beginning of life before tribulation. (Hebrews 11.) Hope comes later and is born of tribulation. (Romans 5.)

Fifthly, they differ in regard to their effects. Faith is a judge. It judges errors. Hope is a soldier. It fights against tribulations, the cross, despondency, despair, and waits for better things to come in the midst of evil.

Without hope faith cannot endure. On the other hand, hope without faith is blind rashness and arrogance because it lacks knowledge. Before anything else a Christian must have the insight of faith, so that the intellect may know its directions in the day of trouble and the heart may hope for better things. By faith we begin, by hope we continue.

I love that explanation!  So it makes perfect sense for me to have hope and faith as well, since they go hand in hand!  I also believe that hope is attached to many things in life…. not just wanting to get better physically like I do right now.  There are many areas that I want to improve in and have ‘hope’ that I will.

Here’s what Bob Proctor, a world renown self improvement coach says about hope:

“Hope gives you options. When you have hope, you see all kinds of options. You see doors instead of walls. You stop trying to make a door out of a wall. You see openings everywhere you go. There are opportunities flying at you. Hope gives you options. Hope gives you understanding of the creative faculties that we have got, of the marvelous power that we are working with, of the fact that we can create and internalize and express everything. We are the highest form of creation on the planet.”

Having hope, in a sense, is like seeing or even knowing there’s a light at the end of the tunnel.  It’s looking for that open door instead of feeling like your up against a wall.  Discouragement can weigh you down!  It gets you closer to the wall, not the door!

So tonight, I’m putting my faith and hope in action that tomorrow will be a much better day ‘physically’ for me!  I’m doing my best to make it happen…..  now the rest is up to belief and turning it over to a higher power.

I’m grateful to find hope in this moment.  Grateful that I have the opportunity to put my hope and faith to the test!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

About Wanda Copier

Hi! Thanks for joining me on my Gratitude blog! My goal is to empower my life for the better while hopefully giving you food for thought as to what you are grateful for in your life! Check out the 'About Me' tab to learn more about me!

Leave a Reply

