What a Wonderful World

Standard

Most of you know by now how I love music.  It’s a pretty important part of my life.

Today while I was getting ready for church, I was listening to Michael Buble, whom I’ve blogged about before….  but as I was listening to him sing, What A Wonderful World, a phrase in the song hit me like it was the first time I’d heard it!

Now, I’ve heard this song a lot.  Many difference versions.  I’ve even heard Buble’s version a lot….. but for some reason I guess I’ve never really thought about this particular phrase:  “I hear babies cry, I watch them grow, They’ll learn much more than I’ll ever know”.  It really made me stop and think about what that really meant.

Boy, I must be out to lunch or naive to have missed the meaning behind that phrase!  It really is so obvious!  If you take a look at each generation, the next generation always has so much more available to them to learn or participate in.  Just in technology alone, look what has happened in the last 10 years!  The advances in technology make learning so much easier.  Especially if someone is self motivated!  Cyberspace has an incredible amount of information out there…. both good and bad!

The opportunities that this generation has in so many areas…. in comparison to what I had when I was a kid…. those kinds of things just weren’t available to us.  Sports and music are just two of those areas.  While it is a blessing to this generation to have all that extra-cirucular stuff  available, I think it’s important to remember not to allow ourselves and families to get on ‘overload’.  There has to be a stopping point somewhere…. or one could go crazy….  but that’s another topic!

Just think about the things that you personally have learned that your parents didn’t or don’t know anything about.  For a person, say perhaps like a parent of someone of my generation,  who grew up in a small town and never really traveled anywhere or didn’t go to college ….. their world would have been a pretty small place back then.   Only in books and movies could they even begin to experience anything outside of “Yonkers”.   (That’s a Hello, Dolly! reference in case you didn’t get it…… meaning wanting to get out of the small town and see the world.)

Now a days….  the TV, the internet, and much more ease in traveling, open up a whole new world to all generations not just the current one.  But because of tecnology and such, the current generation really is learning things that their parents or grandparents never knew!   In fact, I know of people my age who still refuse to take the time to learn how to use a computer!  I’m grateful my husband wanted to learn all about that and taught me in the process.

It really is a Wonderful World, isn’t it?  Not only for that fact that each generation can learn more than the past one, but because it truly is a beautiful place to live, just as the song says.

I see trees of green, red roses too
I see them bloom for me and you
And I think to myself what a wonderful world.

I see skies of blue and clouds of white
The bright blessed day, the dark sacred night
And I think to myself what a wonderful world.

The colors of the rainbow so pretty in the sky
Are also on the faces of people going by
I see friends shaking hands saying how do you do
They’re really saying I love you.

I hear babies cry, I watch them grow
They’ll learn much more than I’ll never know
And I think to myself what a wonderful world
Yes I think to myself what a wonderful world. 

I’m grateful to live in this Wonderful World!  I’m grateful that my children and someday grandchildren can learn more than I’ll ever know!  I’m grateful for the beauty around me and grateful that I can continue to learn.  It’s all up to me how much I want to!

What part of this Wonderful World are you grateful for?

I am Grateful!  How are you?

Here’s the classic performed by none other than Louis Armstrong:

About Wanda Copier

Hi! Thanks for joining me on my Gratitude blog! My goal is to empower my life for the better while hopefully giving you food for thought as to what you are grateful for in your life! Check out the 'About Me' tab to learn more about me!

Leave a Reply

