Then and Now…. A Work in Progress

Standard

Why is it that we are always harder on ourselves than any one else is?  We seem to always compare ourselves to the guy down the street or the woman at work.  How do we size up next to them?

In reality, the only person we should be comparing ourselves to is our self.  How have you improved in the last six months or even year?  What are you better at today than you were yesterday or the day before?  It doesn’t have to be big things, it can be small things.

Celebrate the little improvements.  Know that you are moving forward, even though it may seem small.  Once again, here’s one of the posts from Meditations for Women which I think really applies here:

“Every woman is work in progress.”

When you commit yourself to continuous improvement, you can’t help but feel better about yourself. With growth comes the willingness to take risks and accept challenges. It’s exciting because there is always something new you can be, do, have, and learn.

It is in this reaching that you find out whom you really are and all that you are capable of. And, as a result, you evolve as a human being.

As you build momentum, you’ll shine with confidence and inspire others along the way.  Now, that’s what progress is all about!

See progress in all things.  I believe we are put on this earth to discover all that we can be.  What we are and can be cannot be compared to the person next door.  You are you.  They are themselves.  We all have our own things to offer in life.  The important thing is to work on becoming what we can be without comparing how others are doing.  If you compare yourself, you will always find someone who is better than you at certain things, someone who is prettier, more talented, etc..  That attitude only brings you down into discouragement.  Besides…. There will always be someone else out there that thinks YOU are the one that is better, prettier or more talented!  It’s all a matter of perspective!

I’m grateful for the reminder to only look at where I am.  How am I doing?  What can I do to be better at my own goals….   I need to keep progressing so I can ‘shine with confidence and inspire others’.  Take heart in the good you do.  Only compare yourself to yourself!  Who was I then?  Who am I now?

I am Grateful!  How are you?

About Wanda Copier

Hi! Thanks for joining me on my Gratitude blog! My goal is to empower my life for the better while hopefully giving you food for thought as to what you are grateful for in your life! Check out the 'About Me' tab to learn more about me!

Leave a Reply

