Choosing Friends for Success

Standard

Have you ever  been around someone who you felt just sucked the life right out of a room?  Someone with so much negativity that you feel depressed just being around them?  It’s amazing how much other people can affect our attitudes.  Yes…. it’s up to us to not let them affect us, but when you are around it all the time…. it’s hard for it not to rub off just a little!

The same is true the other way.  When you are around positive happy people who are working toward being successful, it can’t help but rub off a little!

All of the experts will tell you how important it is to surround yourself with the kind of friends who have the kind of life you want to live.  If you want to be successful and wealthy and live that kind of life style, then the experts say you need to hang around those kinds of people.  It’s surrounding yourself with like minded people. Learn what they do and did to become successful.  The do what they do.  If you really want to make that change, then you will find there are things that you will need to sacrifice to get there.

Successful people don’t spend their entire evening watching television or playing mindless games in their spare time.  Successful people are always working to improve their minds.  They are constantly working on personal development.  They are reading books and listening to motivational speakers, etc.  Until we realize what an important factor that is for each of us individually to make time for that in our day, then our progress to become a better us will be stifled.

A recent post by Meditations for Women talked about how important being around the right kind of people will effect our happiness and success:

“Our friendships mirror ourselves.”
You can’t choose your family, but you can choose your friends. So, how helpful are your friends to self-growth?

Are they supportive, encouraging you to strive and achieve? Do they provide a sanctuary of love and warmth when the world becomes cold and bitter? Do you love them with all your heart and is that love reciprocated?

Or, are your “friends” not really friends at all? Is there a tinge of jealousy when you succeed? In hard times are they unavailable, only to reappear once the crisis is past? Do they spend their time with you talking in negative ways about others?

If your friendship experience is the former, then you are indeed blessed. If it is the latter, now is the time to take stock of the negativity that you are allowing into your life.

Release your relationships with negative, draining people. Choose friends wisely and you’re life with be filled with love.

Jack Canfield put it this way in an article he wrote called: ” You Are Who Your Friends Are” :

Successful people surround themselves with successful people. Plain and simple. They want to be around others who are achieving goals and making things happen. They want to know their secrets and strategies for winning. They’re not embarrassed to be hanging out with people who are studying for success and making good money.

You, too, need to surround yourself with positive influences. Join the clubs that other successful people are in, learn what they’re learning. It doesn’t matter from what walk of life you are coming from. Show up and transform yourself into an achiever! Success isn’t just for those who have had it easy, who came from supportive homes or had expensive educations. They’re are so many successful people who rose up from very poor conditions and overcame obstacles to achieve the goals they set their sights on. 

In my personal quest for success, I am surrounding myself with people who are achieving the things I would like to achieve.  I am inspired on a daily basis by listening to them.  It gives me the confidence that I too can achieve those things.  I’m reading books and listening to other motivational speakers that also inspire me.  I’m amazed at how much more aware of things I am by doing this.  I really don’t watch TV anymore.  Occasionally…. but not much.  And for someone who watched a lot of different types of programs a year ago, that’s a big change.  But I honestly don’t miss it.

I’m grateful for the inspiration I allow myself to receive every day.  I’m grateful for the person I am becoming by doing so.  I could make a long list of people I would recommend listening too…. but I have to say that Jim Rohn is by far one of my favorites.  His style really speaks to me.  I’ve blogged about him before.  He was by far one of the greatest personal development speakers ever to live, in my opinion.  In one of his short articles where he talks about his mentor Mr. Shoaff, he makes this statement:

 Mr. Shoaff also taught me that life puts some of the more valuable things on the high shelf so that you can’t get to them until you qualify. If you want the things on the high shelf, you must stand on the books you read. With every book you read, you get to stand a little higher. 

Stand a little higher by surrounding yourself with good books and inspirational people, and then do what they do.  Then you can become that inspirational person to someone else someday!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

 

Here’s a clip of the late great Jim Rohn.  Ponder the things he is saying here…. Why not you?  Just on Youtube alone, you could allow yourself to be inspired by this man and other great speakers daily!

 

About Wanda Copier

Hi! Thanks for joining me on my Gratitude blog! My goal is to empower my life for the better while hopefully giving you food for thought as to what you are grateful for in your life! Check out the 'About Me' tab to learn more about me!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

