Smiles


I love TED TV!  They have some of the greatest stuff on there.  I ran across this one on Smiling a while back.  It’s a pretty interesting theory!  It’s worth 7 min of your time to listen to it before you finish reading this post.  Besides… is will make what I’m talking about make more sense!

OK…..  so I learned something new from that!  Anytime I’m craving chocolate…. I’m just going to start smiling!  That should take care of it, right?

I guess I never really thought about how therapeutic smiling was until I listened to that speech.   It makes perfect sense though.  I remember one of my very first crushes….. part of what I really liked about the guy were his adorable dimples!  They pretty much melted my heart!

How about how a young Mother or Father feels when their baby smiles for the first time!  It’s a euphoric feeling!  There’s really nothing greater than the joy of watching a child grow…. but that first smile or first word will do you in every time!

I loved what Ron Gutman said about how people think or feel you are more successful if you smile.  That seems like an easy way to progress in your job or life!   I’ve also heard that it takes many more muscles to frown than to smile….. so it’s even a lot less work to smile!!   Don’t we all want to look good in the eyes of others?  ….. and be more likable, courteous and competent?  Then practice those smiles!

One of the most famous songs about Smiling talks about how it can make you feel better, even when you are down.

Smile though your heart is aching 
Smile even though it’s breaking 
When there are clouds in the sky, you’ll get by 
If you smile through your fear and sorrow 
Smile and maybe tomorrow 
You’ll see the sun come shining through for you 

Light up your face with gladness 
Hide every trace of sadness 
Although a tear may be ever so near 
That’s the time you must keep on trying 
Smile, what’s the use of crying? 
You’ll find that life is still worthwhile 
If you just smile 

Have you ever noticed how one person smiling can make a whole room that way?  It really can be contagious.  It’s one ‘disease’ that’s worth spreading!

If you need some training on smiling….. Wikihow seems to be able to help.  Check out their site:  http://www.wikihow.com/Smile .  There’s some pretty interesting stuff there.

Who can forget the childhood song we all learned about smiling?  “If you chance to meet a frown, do not let it stay!  Simply turn it upside down and smile that frown away!”  Even at a young age we try to teach our children that smiling is good for you!  Any time you are in a happy mood, everything about your physical body is better off….. so why not smile about it?  Or smile to make yourself get to that happy mood!

I’m grateful for smiles.  I’m grateful for being able to give smiles away and to collect them too!  I’m grateful for the knowledge I now have about how smiling can improve my personal situation.  NO more chocolate needed!!  Well…. I might have to break down once an a while.

So, don’t forget:  Today, give a stranger one of your smiles.  It might be the only sunshine he sees all day.  ~Quoted in P.S. I Love You, compiled by H. Jackson Brown, Jr.  I challenge you to smile more than 20 times a day!  Get your super powers on!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

Here’s one of my favorite Youtube videos about how smiling at people and giving them compliments can really change their life.  Love this one!  It’s had over 5 million views…. I think that’s really saying something!

Leave a Reply

