Bountiful Baskets


I love harvest season!  We really are just beginning that wonderful time of year.  Though I love fresh fruit and veggies, I’m not much of a canner.  At least not anymore.  I think it’s because we had several peach trees in our yard and I was ‘forced’ to can them when I had a young family.  I personally don’t like canned fruit, so I wasn’t a fan of doing that.  Besides…. it’s the worst time of the year to be stuck in the heat of canning!  Plus…. I was taught by my Mother, who didn’t know any other way, to add a lot of sugar during the canning process.  I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t do that now if I were to can.

We decided to opt into purchasing Bountiful Baskets this year.  One of the reasons I love it is that we can purchase it as we need it and we don’t usually do it every week since it’s pretty much just my husband and I at home now.  Even though Nate has moved back in with us for a while, he is usually not at home when we eat or he prefers something other than what I make.

I love going to the Farmers Market too.  There’s nothing better than buying straight from the grower.  Since we live in a condo and don’t have room for a garden, the Farmers Market and Bountiful Baskets are our friend!   The one thing I like about Bountiful Baskets is that they put the items together for you.  Which, in many cases, sends me home with vegetables and fruits that I’ve never tried or maybe wouldn’t buy and try on my own.  It’s a good way for us to branch out and try new things.  Since we’ve started drinking Green Smoothies, a lot of this stuff works very well for those.

It will only be a matter of weeks before the fall harvest things start coming on.  I love squash!  I love the idea of learning to try new foods and to enjoy them while they are fresh.  It takes a little more planning to make sure you get those items used up, but I like the sometimes impromptu recipes I come up with to use them!  Thank Heaven for the internet and free recipe sites like All Recipes.com or Cooks.com, etc.  It makes for a quick search when you want a recipe for a particular food item!  Beats spending hours looking through recipes books, that’s for sure!

I’m grateful for Bountiful Baskets and the new areas it takes us in discovering fruits and vegetables that we’ve never tried.  I’m grateful that they have the kinds of things in them that I’m used to too!  Kudos for the organizers!  It’s a blessing to be in an area where we can get them so easily!

Have you tried any new fruits or vegetables this year?  What kinds and how did you prepare them?

I am Grateful!  How are you?

Leave a Reply

