Bridging the Gap


What a long drive!  ….. (actually…. compared to Sunday’s drive, it was a breeze! …. but it still was long!)  We drove to Vegas today from Tucson.  It was kind of a fun drive because it took us into territory that we had never been before.  I love discovering new parts of the country.

We passed through all kinds of desert areas…. both flat and mountainy.  We saw thousands of Joshua Trees as we drove through the Joshua Tree National Park.   We even passed a brief moment on Route 66 as we got off the highway in Kingman, AZ for a break.  Lots to see…. but one moment in the trip kind of struck me.  It was actually a comment I made that struck me, or made me start thinking.

As we passed through one of the mountain areas, we crossed over a bridge.  A highway bridge that made crossing from the one mountain to the other mountain much easier and of course, much quicker.  It wasn’t like a Grand Canyon drop off (which we crossed later in the day on the new bridge by Hoover Dam)… but it was a pretty good drop off.  As we approached the bridge, I said: “I think I’m grateful for this bridge!”  After I made the statement…. I realized how grateful I really was for bridges!  Just think of how long and hard a trip would be without them!  In some cases….. the path would be impassable!  Bridges are a good thing.

It actually made my brain start thinking about what building a bridge, of any kind, represents.  Wikipedia defines a bridge as:  A  structure built to span physical obstacles such as a body of watervalley, or road, for the purpose of providing passage over the obstacle.  I think the last sentence really says it all.  A bridge provides passage over an obstacle.  Though the definition defines those obstacles as a body of water, valley or a road….. a bridge can be built between two people, or groups of people….. metaphorically speaking of course.

If you google “building bridges”  you might be surprised at how many people use the term for support groups of all kinds whose purpose is to bring people together for some cause or improvement.

I can think of several songs that talk about metaphoric bridges.  One of my favorites is Love Can Build A Bridge by the Judds.  The words to the song represent the exact kind of thing I’m talking about here.

I’d gladly walk across the desert 
With no shoes upon my feet 
To share with you the last bite of bread I had to eat 
I would swim back to save you 
In your sea of broken dreams 
When all your hopes are sinking 
Let me show you what love means 

Love can build a Bridge 
Between your heart and mine 
Love can build a Bridge 
Don’t you think it’s time? 
Don’t you think it’s time? 

I would whisper love so loudly 
Every heart could understand 
That love and only love 
Can join the tribes of man 
I would give my heart’s desire 
So that you might see 
The first step is to realize 
That it all begins with you and me 

Love can build a Bridge 
Between your heart and mine 
Love can build a Bridge 
Don’t you think it’s time? 
Oh, don’t you think it’s time? 

When we stand together 
It’s our finest hour 
We can do anything, anything 
Anything, anything 
Keep believin’ in the power 

Love can build a Bridge 
Between your heart and mine 
Love can build a Bridge 
Don’t you think it’s time? 
Don’t you think it’s time?

I particularly like the lyrics of second verse and ironically, the part of the song they refer to as the ‘bridge’…..   it really does all begin with you and me!

Today I’m grateful for bridges….. both the physical and the metaphoric.   I’m grateful that they make the distance shorter for a passage over an obstacle….. physical or metaphoric!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

Leave a Reply

