Doing It Yourself


I think I’ve mentioned before how I don’t watch much TV anymore…..  I seem to find more important things to do.   But, there was a time when I was addicted to certain shows on TV!  Two of my favorite stations that I used to watch every single day…. almost all day long….. are HGTV and  the DIYNetwork.

My husband is a handy man.  So was my father and so was my husband father.  I say ‘was’ about my father in law because he can’t really do that kind of stuff anymore….. though sometimes he still tries.  My Dad was a brickmason so he was used to working with his hands.  I just remember him being the one that just did what needed to be done around the house…. including finishing the basement in our home.  I have vague memories about some of it because I was so young, but I do remember a little.

Sometime do-it-yourself remodel jobs can make you feel like giving yourself a lobotomy would be easier! But the rewards are very satisfying.

Because of that…. I kind of grew up expecting a guy to just ‘take care of it’.  Luckily, I married a man who does that!  It has saved us a lot of money over the years.  We have taken on countless remodeling jobs in our married life.  Perhaps that’s one reason why I love those TV stations.  I love watching others do it themselves and also watching professionals get involved.  You can learn a lot if you watch closely.

For some reason, we had the TV on tonight.  I found myself drifting toward those channels… even though there was a good old movie musical on…. I kept turning it back to HGTV.  It was fun to tune in.  It really has been a long time since I watched it.  I have always loved the shows that give you inexpensive ideas to makeover a room.

A few years ago, I got an ASP designation (Accredited Staging Professional) for my Real Estate license.  I loved the idea of being able to help a client that wanted to sell their home, re-stage the house so it would sell better.  Sometimes it really does take a different eye to see what can be done to improve it.  We just get so used to seeing our own stuff that we don’t realize what it looks like to others.   I was actually quite surprised when we sold our home a few years ago that I was able to stand back and rethink the furniture arrangement to a more pleasing layout.  I thought for sure I’d need to bring someone else in to help me….. but I did it myself!  The fact that we had taken a LOT of stuff out of the home by then and I only had a few things left to stage with helped reduce the cluttered look a ton.  I recorded several episodes of Designed to Sell and Sell This House!  a few years back.  I figured they were good things to have on hand to help me with ideas to help people spiff up their homes when selling.  Love those shows.

So, tonight, it was kind of fun to sit here for a while and watch HGTV and DIYnetwork.  Even though the actual shows I used to watch aren’t on anymore….. I still enjoyed some of the new shows.  Just more ideas and tricks about how to Do It Yourself!

I grateful for the help we can get from these channels, but I’m mostly grateful that my husband and I can do it!  I mostly supervise, or crack the whip…. however you want to look at it!  Hopefully we can get started on our remodel of our Master Bath and closet soon!  Maybe I should film our makeover just for fun!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

Leave a Reply

