Sacrificing Saturdays


I have to say, I’m awfully grateful that I pretty much have control over my own time.  I’m not tied to a 9-5 schedule.  My work hours are my own…. whatever I set.  I can schedule whatever I like for the most part.

There are a few things that I’m tied to…. like Wednesday mornings I serve in the temple.  My church meetings on Sunday are from 11am-2pm.  I plan several hours on Mondays to spend with my Mom.  Other than that…. (and those can be re-arranged if I need it) ….. I set my own schedule.  I feel very blessed to be able to do that.

Today, I want to honor those who don’t necessarily have that kind of control over their time and still volunteer and sacrifice their time to work in the temple on Saturdays.  I was a substitute today for the midday shift.  I was amazed at how many of those ladies….. many of them quite young….. that work a full time schedule during the week (meaning a 9-5 job) and still give up their Saturdays to be in the temple serving.

With all of the extra-curicular activities that I get involved with, working in the temple every Saturday would be very hard for me.  It would mean I couldn’t do a lot of those extra things.  I was truly touched by these Sisters devotion and willingness to be there.  I even overheard one Sister say they were just coming back early from their vacation in October because it was too hard to find a substitute for Saturdays….. particularly since she wasn’t available another day of the week to ‘pay back’ the substitute.  That’s dedication!

I don’t mean to downplay anyone who works in the temple at other times.  It’s a sacrifice for all of us to give up time to be there.  And their are many Sisters who volunteer to ‘sub’ almost everyday.  That too is dedication!  I just know that for me personally, giving up a weekend to work there doesn’t fit my life style.

My heart felt thanks go out to all volunteers who give up their Saturday every week to serve others in the temple….. ANY temple!  Even if you don’t have a full time job….. giving up your Saturdays is a real sacrifice!  Though you are sacrificing your Saturday to do worldly, and even family things, you are sacrificing your time for the Lord!  Thanks so much for your service.  I think you will be doubly blessed!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

 

Note:  I probably should add that I’m sure there are other things that many of you do that occupy your precious time on a Saturday, not just temple work.  You too, deserve a huge vote of thanks for all that you do.  Time if precious…. and when you give it up to benefit another, you will be dually blessed!

Leave a Reply

