Primarily Speaking…..

Standard

OK….. so I’ve spent a good portion of my day today preparing for a Primary lesson!!!  Crazy!  And I’m only a substitute!

I have to give kudos to the workers in Primary.  Been there….. done that.  It’s a lot of work.  It’s similar in a lot of ways to teaching elementary age kids….. except you have them for a lot less time, and it’s still a lot of work!

I’ve served in the Primary a couple of times.  Once as Primary President and then as Primary Chorister.  That was a lot of work!  I don’t remember when I was President feeling like it was as much work as being the Primary Chorister!!  I was always having to come up with some visual aids to help teach the new songs and other aids just to keep the kids motivated to sing!

Primary is a time consuming calling!  Our ward, at least, has ‘team’ teaching.  That way you only have to prepare a lesson every other week.   Of course, when you’re team partner is your spouse….. it still involves you!   Now…. I realize preparing a lesson for any calling is time consuming!  It just seems that you have to do more to keep the younger ones ‘entertained’….. or to hold their attention.

I remember the first time I substitute taught for Murray School District.  The first call I got was for a Kindergarten class.  It was only for 1/2 day too.  I remember thinking to myself…. “Oh… this should be a breeze!  Kindergartners should be easy to teach!”  HOLY COW….. was I wrong!  Kindergartners have an attention span of about 15 minutes!  So every 20 minutes or so you have to switch gears.  I was so grateful there was a Room Mom there to help me.  She was wonderful in helping keep on task and figure things out!  I don’t know what I would have done without her!   I was completely worn out that day!

So guess what age I’m teaching tomorrow!!  4 year olds!!!  Which means it will be pretty much like teaching Kindergartners….. only they haven’t had the discipline of learning to sit through a 1/2 day of school yet!  My husband’s not happy with me…. but I’m making him help me with the class.  I’m teaching the lesson, but having another person in there will be VERY helpful!

It’s pretty funny….. but I’ve probably over prepared….. but not knowing for sure how much time each thing will take, I want to make sure I have plenty of things for them to do!  I told my husband today…. you’d think I was preparing a lesson for Young Women, the way I’m going ‘all out’ just to get the point across!  Of course…. Sugardoodle.net gave me the idea, and of course I had to do it!  I spent 2 hours shopping for ‘warm fuzzies’ and a bottle to put them in…. and several more hours at home preparing all the other stuff.  I know…. I’m crazy!  I also told John that if we ever get asked to be Primary teachers for real, we better have a good excuse to say “NO”!  It’s too much work!!

So…. now your wondering, “What is your calling anyway?”   Well…. besides being a Visiting Teacher and being on the committee for what used to be called ‘enrichment night’ for Relief Society (which is really only a few things a year to worry about now)…. My ‘big’ calling is Ward Choir Director.  And I’m glad I’m just the Ward Choir Director!  I’ve been complaining to my hubby about that one too….. but after today….. I think I need to shut up and just do it!!   I guess I need to have a better attitude about ‘serving’ the Lord….. especially since that’s what the lesson for Primary is on!!  It just takes making time in my schedule to make plans so I’m not running around at the last minute finding music, etc.!!

I’m grateful for all the people who serve in the Primary.  Even though I don’t have children there anymore….. I truly appreciate what you do to influence those young minds in teaching them gospel principles!  Thanks for all you do!  And thanks to all the teachers in any calling!  It’s a challenging job and I admire your efforts and appreciate the spirit you bring each week!  Primarily speaking however, I’m sure glad I’m just the Ward Choir Director!!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

Leave a Reply

