God Has Angels Watching Over Me


Have you ever been in a moment of time when you thought you might just see you life flash before you?  Yeah…. I had one of those today.

I traveled out to Bountiful early this evening to meet some high school friends for dinner.  Before the dinner, I was planning to stop off to visit with my Mom for a few minutes and take her a large container of Alkaline water.  I didn’t leave my house till about 4:40 pm, knowing of course that the closer I got to the city center, the worse the traffic would be.

I was actually quite surprised how smoothly things went, even at around 600 North.  That’s usually where north bound traffic starts to back log.  But I was easily moving along a freeway speeds.  It was when I reached Bountiful that it suddenly came on out of nowhere.

Even though I tend to drive fairly fast, I still try to keep a little bit of distance between myself and the car in front of me.  In this case…. I was extremely grateful there was some distance…. though it came awfully close to not being enough distance!

I’m still not sure what caused it…. I didn’t notice anything that would have… but I came within a foot or so of rear ending the guy in front of me and being rear ended myself!  Talk about slamming on the brakes!!  I burned some pretty good rubber!  It was NOT a fun situation.  It pretty much scared the ‘you know what’ out of me!  My heart was pounding pretty hard for several minutes.  It’s a tense moment when you think you may be a squished gonner!

I took the opportunity to use the new Ho’ oponopono mantra I learned yesterday after it happened.  This time is started with ‘Thank you!”  Then I went into “I’m sorry…. please forgive me….. I love you!!”  I thought the words were kind of appropriate at the time!  Thanking my Heavenly Father for allowing me to react quickly enough that a collision was avoided!  Saying “I’m sorry”…  I must have been following too close…. “Forgive me” and of course “I love you”!  I actually felt a little better saying that out loud!

Of course the thought of Angles watching over me came to my mind!   I love the Amy Grant song by the same title.  Here are the words starting with the second verse:

God only knows the times my life was threatened just today.
A reckless car ran out of gas before it ran my way.
Near misses all around me, accidents unknown,
Though I never see with human eyes the hands that lead me home.
But I know theyre all around me all day and through the night.
When the enemy is closing in, I know sometimes they fight
To keep my fight from falling, Ill never turn away.
If youre asking whats protecting me then youre gonna hear me say:

God has angels watching over me, every move I make,
Angels watching over me!
Angels watching over me, every step I take,
Angels watching over me….

Angels watching over me….
Angels watching over me.

Though I never see with human eyes the hands that lead me home….

That song definitely started running through my mind today!  And appropriate it is!  It also made me think about a story that a friend shared with me just yesterday.

Without going into all the details….. she was walking down a staircase that was built along a very steep and high cliff.  She said there was a lot of overgrowth along this path….. it hadn’t been up kept the way it should have been.  She and her husband decided after they had gone done about 1/3 of the way that is was just too dangerous and turned to head back up the stairs.  As she turned, she fell through the guard rail along the stairs.  She said she literally felt someone catch her and take her safely down.  Apparently this was a pretty long drop she fell.  She was unharmed and her husband told her not to move and went to get help.  It was amazing to hear her tell how she literally felt someone catch her and hold on to her.

I’ve heard similar stories….. stories of angels being felt or even in some cases seen.  Most often the ones that see them are young children.   I think we all have guardian Angels!  I just wondered if mine got a little squished and bruised today standing between my car and the one in front of me and also the one in back!  It was a pretty tight squeeze!

I’m awfully grateful that God sent those Angels to watch over me today!  It really does make you realize how protected you are…. and wonder too what else they have protected you from!!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

 

2 Replies to “God Has Angels Watching Over Me”

  1. So glad you’re okay! I totally believe angels watch over us. I think they might actually be those that went before us?
    Love that Amy Grant song. When I saw your post title it started running through my head before I started reading!

  2. Thanks, Wendy! I’m glad it went OK too. The car is acting a little weird now…. but John’s looking at that. Amazingly…. there were no collisions….. but it was awfully close! I think I may have been the only one that burned rubber!

Leave a Reply

