A Taste of Memory

Standard

Have you ever had a time when a smell or a flavor took you back in time to some great memories?  That was the case for me today as I tasted Horchata for the first time.

My understanding of what Horchata is, is that it is a drink made from Rice, milk and cinnamon.  As I looked it up on the internet, apparently there are other ingredients that are added to some recipes.  The version I had today was from El Pollo Loco.  I really enjoyed the flavor and took a second helping…. or two…..  As we left the restaurant, I was telling my husband how much I was enjoying the flavor and I suddenly said….. “It reminds of me of something I’ve tasted before.”

As I started thinking about what the flavor reminded me of, I realized that it made me think about my Grandma Moffitt.  When I was a kid, she used to serve me what she would call her ‘Josie Tea’….. which was basically tea with milk in it.   I remember it being very sweet.  Thinking about that Josie Tea made me start thinking about her delicious Rice Pudding she used to make.  I think that’s where the flavor of Horchata really took me back to.  Creamy Rice Pudding with raisins and cinnamon.  Hmmm … hmmmm … good!  Sadly, I don’t think anyone in the family ended up with a copy of Grandma’s rice pudding recipe!

That’s just one of the things my Grandma did that no one in the family ‘inherited’!  Grandma was wonderful at crocheting!  Not the big bulky yarns that we whip out a scarf with today….. or the big crochet hooks….. but the thin cotton thread and tiny crochet hooks that she made doily after doily out of!  I’m grateful that I at least inherited a few of the doilies that she made…. even though I never learned how to make them!

This reminds me very much of the doilies Grandma Moffitt used to make!

I was only 9 years old by the time I had lost all my Grandparents….. so there’s a few things I missed out on learning how to do.  I’ve seen the relationship that my adult children and their older cousins have had with my parents and John’s parents and I realize that I didn’t know my Grandparents really well.  Either that, or I was too young to remember a lot of things.  But I do remember Grandma’s Josie tea, Rice pudding and her doilies!

I’m grateful for the memory jog of thinking about my Grandma Moffitt today.  Often we don’t take the time to reflect on loved ones who have passed on…. particularly when it was so long ago and you were so young when they passed on!  Thanks Grandma….. I only wish I had your recipes and talent in crocheting!  I love and miss you!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

Leave a Reply

