Sleepy Hollow


Do you all remember the tale of Sleepy Hollow?  The story of Icabod Crane and the Headless horseman?  Most of us are probably familiar with the Disney cartoon version……  which makes a very short story of it all.

Having never read the complete story by Washington Irving…. I can’t comment much on the original story.  I do know that the version I saw this evening…. a musical version written by Jim Christian with music by Tom Edward Clark…..  was an extended tale of the story with new characters and story lines developed my Christian.

The first time I saw this version was two years ago when it premiered at Weber State University.  It was a student production that was directed by Christian.  Jim always seems to pull together great talent for his shows.  The students at Weber State must learn well from him.  Of course, great talent is drawn to great teachers…. that could have something to do with it.

I enjoyed Weber’s version of it 2 years ago.  It was exciting to meet the new characters and follow the new storyline.  The twists and turns that it took at the end were surprising….. which gave the story a new exciting punch.

The music in this version is a little more difficult that many musicals.  Let’s just say…. it’s not your standard Rogers and Hammerstein easy to sing songs!  The difficulty of the music calls for a vocally talented cast.  For the most part the vocals were fairly strong in the version I saw this evening at Centerpoint Legacy Theater.

It was interesting to see the show after two years, knowing how it would end this time.  I looked at each character a little closer than the first time I saw it. I wanted to see if I noticed any little indications of the events that were about to unfold.  I don’t believe I saw anything that would give the story away.

The scenery and special effects that were done were great.  I think the kids around me were pretty intrigued by what they saw.  It makes a nice edition to anyone’s Halloween events.

I’m glad we got to see it again tonight.  It’s always fun to add  something a little ‘scary’ to this time of year. (Not too scary though… I don’t do really scary!)   Kudos to Jim for writing a script with intrigue and mystery and for making the Legend of Sleepy Hollow live on!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

Leave a Reply

