What Time Is It? Time To Get Creative!

Standard

For those of you that follow my blog and have read the ‘About’ section on me…. you know that one of my hobbies is making jewelry.  Though I haven’t done it much for a while….  lately, thanks to being inspired by my talented friend Lyn…..  I got the urge to do it again!

This round all started by me wanting to make an interchangeable watch band similar to one that a friend of mine was wearing a few weeks ago.  I loved the color scheme and it seemed to be a bit Halloweeny…. ( though not completely…) and I wanted one to wear to church on Sunday.

I love these colors together!

So yesterday morning, I headed to the basement with all the extra trinkets I needed to put a watch band together….. expecting to be only 1/2 hour or so.   Several hours later I emerged from the basement with not only the watchband….. but a matching necklace and earrings!!  That was NOT in the plan for the day!  But I had SO much fun designing and making it!  It was actually quite relaxing from my everyday routine.  I’d forgotten how much I enjoyed it.

I had plans a few years ago to kind of really get into the jewelry making hobby.  I was just really getting interested in it and wanted to learn more about it when my daughter lost her job.  In an effort to help her try to make some money…..  I suggested that she think about becoming a Lia Sophia representative.  I had a friend who was selling it and quite enjoying it.  At the time, her daughter was a Regional Manager for Lia Sophia.  Mandy and I met her for lunch one day and asked a few questions.

Mandy decided to give it a try….. though I must say….. it was really me wanting her to try more than her wanting it herself.  Her life was in a little bit of turmoil at the time that I wasn’t really aware of…. so I think she did it more to please me.  Of course…. she being a little short on money…. Mom paid for her starter kit and hosted her first party!    Which of course meant that I purchased even more jewelry!

It didn’t make much sense to me to pick up the hobby of jewelry making when my daughter was trying to sell a professional brand of jewelry.   So… the hobby kind of went on the back burner.  Though Mandy’s jewelry career was short lived….  I had other things enter my life that required more attention from me.  But my recent time with Lyn and all her cute Persnickety Things sparked the desire to be ‘creative’!

Here's another view showing the watch with one side unhooked. It's funny.... but the 'orange' beads aren't really orange.... they are more of a golden color.... but they sure look orange here!

So creative I was!  And it was a blast!  I’m grateful that I had a reminder of how much I enjoy doing it.  Though I have no intention of spending hours at jewelry making…. I would like to work in a couple of hours a week of fun with it!!  Then I’ll be left with the problem of trying to decide what to do with all my creations!

I am Grateful!  How are You?

Here’s a few more samples of my latest stuff.  I made Mother’s Necklaces for myself and my friend.

Here's what the names look like up close. They seem to show up better on a white background.

If you look close.... you can see the names of the kids in the square silver beads

2 responses »

  1. Absolutely gorgeous. You need to quit showing this stuff cause I want one of everything you make.

    Hope you are good, I miss you. For 2 weeks we got so much time and now I am in Wanda withdrawal.

    Love your guts.

    Miss Lyn

    • I knew you’d like it! �I just fell in love with Trudy’s watch band and the color combination. �I wore it all to church today and everyone seemed to like it. �There was a sister sitting a few rows ahead of me that had a flower print on with all the exact same colors in it and it wasn’t even a Halloween print! �That just confirmed to me that the colors go well together…. with or without the Halloween theme!

      I’m having Lyn withdrawals too….. �I’ll see you in a week or so, right?

Leave a Reply

