I’ve Always Owned A Home

Standard

There are some advantages to marrying someone older than you….. at least in my case.  The fact that my husband had been through school, had a good job and owned a house was a big plus for me.  Not every couple can claim that starting off a marriage!

Now…. bear in mind….. my husband was (and still is) someone who does not like to be in debt for things.  The only thing he fills OK owing on is a house…. and then, he would prefer NOT to have a mortgage.  What I’m trying to say is, that’s he’s thrifty.  He doesn’t like buying things on credit.  Not unless we can get it paid off REALLY fast!  Consequently….. he was in a position to be able to buy a house at a fairly young age.

This actually reminds me a little of our first house....

Granted…. he didn’t have a family at the time, which can make finances tighter…. but regardless….. he used his money wisely and was able to get into a home before we even met.  I feel very blessed!

I started thinking about the fact that I’ve always had a house to live in (one that we ‘own’) as I was thinking about my son wanting to buy a home right now.  He currently lives in an apartment.  I do have to give him kudos though.  He actually does own some real estate.  He and his cousin bought a home several years ago.  They lived in it for quite a while with other room mates and then Matt got married, so Jon bought him out.  He decided it was a little pricey to live in on his own, however, so he turned it into a rental unit.  It’s been a good deal for him.  But, now, he wants to get into a house again.  One to live in.  No more of this apartment rental stuff.

It made me realize that I have been lucky my entire married life to have a home that we own to live in.  We have lived in 3 different places since we got married… but we have owned them all.

I’m so grateful that my husband was (and is) thrifty.  Because of his situation when we got married…. I’ve always had a wonderful place of our own to live!  I’m so blessed and lucky!

I am Grateful!  How are You?

Leave a Reply

