Look How Far We’ve Come! Cheese and Crackers, Anyone?


Yesterday, as I went to make the cupcakes and cake for my sister’s wedding, I had to send my husband to the store to get sugar and flour.

Now…. That may not seem like much to you, but the fact that we were almost out of both of those items is not because we use them a lot.  It’s actually because we’ve been trying to avoidwhite sugar and white flour in our diet as much as possible.  It’s taken us while to use up the supply we had since we don’t use it much.

Sure used a LOT of these ingredients the last two days!

It occurred to me that I needed to be grateful for that, and recognize and give ourselves credit for how far we’ve come in the area of eliminating sugar and flour from our diet.  Even though our diet is not perfect…. We still have a long way to go….. I thought the need to purchase sugar and flour to be able to make sweets is a good step in the right direction.

In the past…. I would have had my husband pick up very large packages of sugar and flour, since it is usually cheaper that way.  But, since we don’t want it to become a habit again, I had him pick up small packages.  Just enough to have around the house if needed (like if someone asked me to make cupcakes for a party or wedding, etc.), but not enough to be doing lots of baking with recipes that require white sugar and white flour.

It’s a good feeling to know that you have made some progress in that area!  A good enough feeling to give ourselves a pat on the back.  I’m grateful for that.

The disadvantage to being asked to make these treats for my sister lead to a little set back, however!  Oh my goodness.  It’s hard to resist trying the results!  The recipes I used were so good… I just couldn’t resist sampling them.  A lot.  Way too much as a matter of fact.  Most of what I have consumed today has been a sugary sweet thing!  That’s NOT a good thing!

At least I’m not taking cake decorating back up as a hobby again, so I shouldn’t have to worry too much about being tempted to eat what I make!

Wouldn't your body like you better if you snacked on this instead of a cupcake?

But wait….. the Holidays are just around the corner and that means I’ll have plenty of other temptations!  I guess it’s time to get serious again about avoiding white sugar and white flour!  It’s time to go for the other snacks!  Cheese and crackers, anyone?  (Whole grain crackers, that is!)

I am Grateful!  How are You?

One Reply to “Look How Far We’ve Come! Cheese and Crackers, Anyone?”

Leave a Reply

